Samantha Melchin's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samantha’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From USA
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

I am living/studying/working in Boston, for now, but I am hoping to eventually travel full time. Right now I travel as much as I possibly can. Usually solo, but also with friends. I also teach ESL part time online to students in China. I grew up in rural New Hampshire but have been living in Boston for about 10 years......... before this I did a summer in Cuernavaca Mexico (about maybe an hour from Mexico City) doing intensive Spanish classes (my Spanish is terrible) and I went to Plymouth State University for a couple years in NH. Something cool about being in Mexico was that there were a lot of Japanese students at my school, and they couldn't speak English and I cannot speak Japanese, but we could communicate in the Spanish that we were learning. Last year I volunteered at a primate rescue in Pretoria, Africa. I've also worked at summer camps over the summers when I was younger with a lot of international people and that was awesome. I am a very open minded person I don't care who you love, what you do, where you're from....wait am I singing Backstreet Boys lyrics? JK but seriously I am open to meeting everyone as long as you dont suck.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love both meeting new people and the concept of a sharing economy (i.e. Uber, Airbnb, couchsurfing, I'll dogsit for free if I get the joy of spending time with a dog, etc). I like practicing/learning new languages and being introduced to new and different cultures. I love meeting people from all over the world who I would otherwise never meet. I am very open minded and like to make friends with anyone.

Interests

Travel travel travel. I love going anywhere, really. I basically use google flights and skyscanner to just pick a location and GO. I love nature - learning about different animals, seeing wildlife and spending time outside. I also love cooking and trying new foods (mostly vegetarian/pescetarian, but I do eat meat time to time) I like seeing live music especially outside during the summer. Politics are very important to me esp. due to current situations in USA (Gross). I also love bar crawling in new cities. I am pro-cannabis. OH - I like art too! I used to love sneaking into our college art studio at midnight with friends and wine and just painting all night. I'd like to do more art again.

  • animals
  • arts
  • street art
  • music festivals
  • animal welfare
  • partying
  • house parties
  • politics
  • music
  • electronic music
  • solo travel
  • travel
  • progressive politics
  • international politics

Music, Movies, and Books

I have really embarrassing tastes in all of the above.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

OH GOD this is too braggy I can't.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like practicing language skills esp. Spanish. I can teach and help practice English, too.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My apartment is TINYYY. So I don't offer it. Sorry :( I mean, unless you want to sleep on 3 ft of floor space or like in my bath tub. Then you are totally welcome to! I just would feel like a terrible host.

But i am totally open to meeting up with anyone who's in Boston and I love meeting people when i am traveling to new cities!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bermuda, Canada, England, France, Iceland, Ireland, Mexico, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Samantha’s full profile.

My Groups