Samarjeet Nayak's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 10 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samarjeet’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hindi, Konkani, Marathi (Marāṭhī); learning Gujarati
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Freelance Digital Marketing
  • Bachelors In Engineering (Computer Science)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! Namaste :)

I am on Couchsurfing to discover like-minded travelers and souls with a joie de vivre (those who love to enjoy life!). To discover new places, people and cultures and to discover myself through the same. Couchsurfing is the convergence of joy, people, meaning and travel for me.

What better way to experience a culture than through the eyes of someone who has experienced that culture day in day out and to stay with them as a part of their family.

As a host, I wish to offer you a comfortable relaxing stay, cook some nice meals for you, share some wonderful conversations, introduce you to my friends and social circles and to let you experience my favorites from my slice of the local flavors and experiences of Pune. I have added a lot of details about my home and the stay in the ‘My Home’ section of my profile. Kindly please go through it and let me know if you have any questions or preferences and I will try my best to accommodate them.

As a surfer, I primarily wish to seek from you the comfort, warmth and perspectives that no commercial stay but only a friend and a home-stay can offer. Based on your comfort and availability, I am also open to (but no compulsions!) cooking together, meeting your friends, sharing some amazing conversations and for you to point me to or accompany me to your favorites bits in your town.

As mentioned, I am ‘open to’ these preferences but there is no compulsion. Think more like suggestions to things I’d like out of this exchange. If you would not like to do any of the above as a host or a surfer, if your schedule is too busy, or if you seek solitude, that’s perfectly fine too as long as we communicate prior the same between us and the overall vibe during the stay is relaxed and friendly.

If you are fellow Punekar reading this, I am also looking to meet activity partner and to make new friends. I would love to join you on nearby trips, treks and excursions in and out of the city. Invite me to your home, circles, potlucks and travels and I will do the same for you. Let’s connect! :)

**About me**

I am an ambivert in the truest sense of the word. Someone who likes solitude, deep conversations and reading books just as much as meeting new people, large get-togethers and partying.

Irrespective of where you fall on the spectrum, whether you are an introvert or an extrovert, a capitalist or a hippie, I will find common threads between us and make for some good conversations and adventures.

Few positive adjectives that people have used to describe me are optimistic, calm, jovial, adjustable, rugged, outspoken, quiet, intense, driven, enthusiastic, spontaneous, sweet, accommodating, easy going, a good listener, funny and a quick learner.

My interests branch out in a lot of different directions. I wouldn't say my hobbies are uncommon in any way but I feel my particular tastes are both vast and somewhat non-mainstream. The things that I resonate with are usually niche but I also like a little bit of everything.

Books: I love reading. It's my number one go to activity since a couple of years now and has replaced the previous favorite pastime of binge watching shows. I am almost exclusively into non-fiction books and love reading anything that is anthropology, psychology, Indian history and culture, sociology, technology, science, spirituality etc. Have read a little over 100 books and books are a favorite conversation starter for me. Exchanging what we are reading or sharing an intellectual theory or observation is the best way to get me start talking.

Cooking: I love to cook. I cook twice-thrice a day for myself and would love to cook something for you as well. I can cook good Indian dishes and also some nice Chinese dishes and pastas as well. My expertise are dishes with chicken, rice, noodles, pastas, paneer, eggs, sandwiches, oats, Indian desserts and last but not the least, I make a decent coffee as well. I do not drink or smoke but have no problem if you indulge in either. I prefer home-cooked food over junk food too and can cook dishes for you which will give junk food a run for it’s money.

Movies and Shows: Former number one pastime before books took me over. I prefer slow burn shows like Mad Men, The Sopranos, Breaking Bad, Band of Brothers, Westworld, Better Call Saul, The Wire, Silicon Valley, Louie, Vikings, Anne With An E. Not a big movie fanatic since I got into shows but back when I used to watch them, I loved devouring classics like Dead Poet's Society, Fight Club, Shawshank Redemption, Pulp Fiction, The Dark Knight, Schindler's List, 12 Angry Men, Inception, Se7en, American History X, Pianist, Prestige, Limitless and about a hundred more titles that beat my memory right now and would be too much to fit in this space. I also enjoy watching standup comedy a lot but it would be too much to name each artist that I like.

People: I love meeting new people and I love conversations. I believe every person is an inspiration and has a story to tell and a plethora of experiences to share. I love 1-on-1 conversations as well as meeting large groups of people at gatherings, outdoors or parties. Anything social and I'm in for it. If you're cool, I would love to introduce you to my friends and likewise, if you find me cool enough, you can +1 me to your social galas and I won't disappoint or embarrass you.

Music: Another love of mine, I listen to more genres of music than my fingers can count. I listen all branches of rock music whether it be classic rock, alt rock, hard rock or the twenty other sub-branches of it. I listen to a lot of rap, Indian classical and carnatic music, pop, electronic, funk, soul, local indie artists, world music and more eccentric stuff which is hard to box under a genre. I'm slowly getting into jazz and blues now. If you have a diverse taste in music feel free to hit me up with some suggestions.

Boardgaming: I am just getting into boardgames and have played some of the more popular ones like Settlers of Catan, Sequence, Monopoly Deal, Taco Cat Goat Cheese Pizza, King Of Tokyo, Secret Hitler, Seasons and Uno. I have a few of these games at my place and we can play them and I would love to teach you if you havent played them before.

Nature: I love green spaces. I have grown up surrounded by the oceans in Mumbai and I am now surrounded by the beautiful mountain ranges and western ghats in Pune. Not to mention the tekdis (small hills) interspersed throughout Pune. Some of my fondest memories and conversations are during times spent in lush green spaces. I don't care if it a small garden or the foothills of a large mountain or watching a sunset on the balcony, I love nature in all shapes and sizes.

Culture: Having a south-Indian background, I would love to tell you about my culture, cuisines and language. At the same time, I was born and raised in Mumbai, so if you're from outside of Mumbai and are inquisitive about the Mumbai life, I would love to talk about the city with you. (Currently living in Pune. Ask me why :) )

What else?: I am good with Computers and Internet. I work as a freelance digital marketing consultant. I love to build things and I am fairly good at writing as well. I am into fitness and try to workout everyday and to eat healthy. I value routine and discipline and like conversations over a long walk.

Interests

  • books
  • theater
  • music festivals
  • dancing
  • fitness
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • psychology
  • nature
  • spirituality
  • meeting people
  • mma
  • museums
  • stand up comedy
  • mixed martial arts
  • nature walks
  • ufc

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Fostered a pregnant cat and two separate batches of her newborn kittens during the rainy season this year. You can find a picture of them in my photos. The kittens are damn adorable and one batch of kittens and the mother are now a part of our family because we've grown so close and attached to them.

Countries I’ve Lived In

India

Join Couchsurfing to see Samarjeet’s full profile.