Samer Nammari's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samer’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references
  • Fluent in Arabic, English, Hebrew (modern); learning French, German
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2019
  • Writer and Student
  • Master's in Art and Philosophy
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm Samer and I'm a native of Jerusalem. I'm still a newbie among the couchsurfing crowd but you and I know that it's a great way to meet new people from all over the world! I love languages and there's nothing better to pass the time than to work on your language skills ;) For those who are bored with the philological side of things, I'm a big Netflix guy and I would happily binge on a few episodes of your favorite show with you.

I speak several languages. My mother tongue is Arabic but I also speak English, Hebrew and French. My French is weak due to non-practice but I look forward to practicing it. In case you haven't made the connection yet, I'm a Palestinian Arab Jerusalemite ;)

I have one of the cutest cats you'll ever run into. He's called Bartholomew and he's a holy cat, according to my estimations at the time me and a fellow couchsurfer abducted him from inside a trash bag on the steps of the Church of the Redeemer, just a few steps from the holiest of churches, the Church of the Nativity. How holy can a cat get?! So I named him after one of Jesus's apostles. He's a very friendly cat but is sometimes too friendly. This means he can start sniffing your food, jumping unto your lap just to be cuddled, or start biting your toes. If he gets too much, the outside garden is his second haven.

I work full time from Monday to Friday so I most likely won't be available during the mornings and afternoons. You'll have fun exploring the area on your own. I live right next to the old Ottoman rail line so you can follow this line into the German colony. Buses are readily available from the street. And the couch is very comfortable.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm here to meet new travelers and to hear about their experiences. I have a sofa in my living room that I can offer. There's public transportation available in the area. If I'm available, I can also hang out with you.

Interests

I love meeting new people and hearing about their experiences. Despite the fact that I like to read much, hearing about personal experiences in person is much more interesting. I also like to discover new places and to experience them in person.

  • running
  • reading
  • hiking
  • food
  • biking

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Indie, Alternative Rock, Bluegrass, 80's Pop Music, Latino Music, Romanticism, J.S. Bach, Benjamin Britten.

Movies: The Green Mile; The Shawshank Redemption; Full Metal Jacket; Master and Commander; Casablanca; Black Hawk Down; The Sands of Iwo Jima; Das Boot; Stalingrad (1993); Der Untergang; Run Lola Run; The Life of Brian; The Lives of Others.

Books: Thomas Hardy; Washington Irving; Theodor Adorno; Erich Fromm; Walter Benjamin; Ralf Rotmann; A Tale of Two Cities; The Pickwick Papers; The English Patient; The Ugly American; An American Tragedy; Les Miserables.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a passionate learner. If it's history, I devour information like knaffe! As to teaching, I think I can teach travelers how to navigate the labyrinthine streets of the old city (if I'm not lost myself)!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Company and good music!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Jordan, Spain, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Israel, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Samer’s full profile.