Samer Hamati's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samer’s full profile.

Overview

  • 22 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Arabic, English; learning French, Portuguese
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • International Consultant in Economic Development
  • PhD in Economics
  • From Lattakia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy the Life and meet people from different cultures

ABOUT ME

Spending 5 years of working with United Nations Development Programme, I became aware of Development issues in developing countries. Thus, i am doing my PhD about this subject.
I am a man from the east coast of the Mediterranean Sea. I spent my time studying, and reading literature. In addition, i like travelling, hiking and camping.
In my opinion, communicating with people is as important as watching the ruins.
the other thing i like to do is communicating with Nature. i used to go hiking every week when i was in Syria, and i hope to do the same thing here in Europe.
however, PhD gives no chance for me to do those activities.

PHILOSOPHY

We are all humans....

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
Do you know the moment when you discover that years are running while you are just studying or working for money and you have not yet discovered the world surrounding you? yes, this is what happened to me, especially after losing my savings and some of friends and family members due to the war in my homeland... SO let me smell the joyness and discover the world.....
Instead of visiting capitals, i am enjoying visiting small town where i can meet locals and discover the spirit of the city.... Yes, i am looking for cultural exchange when visiting new cities, so i am looking for participating in cultural events, looking for NGOs' activities, and going in hiking trips.
i like to taste other countries' food, and cook something from my home.........
and for sure, i am seeking for discovering the intangible feature of a country...

Interests

Hiking, camping, Cooking, and socializing...

  • literature
  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • camping

Music, Movies, and Books

Arabic and oriental Art

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

you will not read it here. you need to hear it, but let me give hints. i use to hike, hitchhike and sleep in the nature, so you can imagine the things i face. also staying three years in a war atmosphere is not a normal thing. however, i hope you will not treat me as the borders officers treat...

Teach, Learn, Share

teach you about development, poverty, inequality, religions, food and other things

What I Can Share with Hosts

when i am hosted by a strange people, i need to respect their places. this means that i should not bother them in term of going and coming regardless of their schedule. also i need to respect their privacy.
on the other hand, i like to share my life and my culture with the host. i have many things to say and introduce about my country. this does not just contain the current conflict, but it includes the ancient civilizations living in Syria. we have our own mythology, habits, beliefs, and food. for sure i can show my host how to do some of the Middle east food, e.x. Hummus or Kaftah.
and about sleeping, i have no problem. i use to hike and sleep in the nature so do not worry if you do not have an additional couch. i can sleep on the floor.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Iraq, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Portugal, Syrian Arab Republic

Join Couchsurfing to see Samer’s full profile.

My Groups