Logo orange

Samson Popowitz

Dongguan, Guangdong, China

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samson's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Businessman though I am trying to br...
  • Business School, Chinese Language Sc...
  • From Near Houston, Harris County, Texas, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Go to interesting places and enjoy local perspective away from crowds. Eat tasty foods and drink delicious drinks.

ABOUT ME

I am 37 years old and like to take breaks to get a new perspective on things. For a person from the United States, I have travelled a bit. I have been to Sweden more than 30 times, other places near Europe / Asia: Republic of Georgia, Turkey, Estonia, Germany, Finland, Russia, Qatar, Malaysia, Phillipines, Thailand, Guam, Saipan, Korea, Japan, Australia. I currently live in South China.

I speak Chinese fluently (which is not usual for western people), I used to speak Russian well but am out of practice. Long time before, I could get by in Spanish, just I have lost the environment.

PHILOSOPHY

Don't do any harm to others. Enjoy new experiences. Be polite of others' culture. Do unto others as you would have them do unto yourself. Give more than you take.

I have no religious beliefs but avoid discussing belief in religion, and all religious are equal.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I like to do a few things on my travels:
-Enjoy meeting different people, dining, enjoying something cultural
-Sometimes just a place with a beach and nice weather
-Sometimes just a place way off the beaten path
-No big tourist traps with buses and hawkers for me, please!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have none really, only just crashing at friend's houses and that's different.

Interests

Happy music, gastronomy, hiking, BBQ, canoeing, reading (I really enjoy reading), relaxing (I think this is an interest), learning language as a gateway to culture. Drinking Extra Dry Vodka Martinis.

Music, Movies & Books

I don't watch much in the way of movies but I enjoy thoughtful movies, as well as just movies with crazy action. Music - I like music mostly that brings a happy mood, across most genres (not United States country music).

Books - I am not an intelligentsia type, but I have probably 50 books in my iPad at any time and 400 books in my library (I often give away books). Reading is a favorite pastime and I am often reading 3-4 books at the same time (one on my phone, one on my iPad, one at home and one at my office).

One Amazing Thing I've Done

More than ten years ago, I worked at Nasa, I was a space flight instructor. I worked at Johnson Space Center and visited Russian Mission Control in Moscow and Star City.

Teach, Learn, Share

-Speak Chinese, doing business in China
-Know-how in R&D and product development
-Marketing
-Fashionable consumer electronics accessories

Join Couchsurfing to see Samson's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile