Sam Thomas's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 8% response rate
  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sam’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Physical therapist/ physiotherapist
  • BHSc Sport and Exercise, BHSc Physiotherapy
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

***Not verified due to prohibitive cost. ***

Happy for you to check my public profiles:
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sam.thomas.967
Instagram @te_ao_o_sam

I'm 31, a kiwi, I have no addictive tendencies aside from coffee and yummy food. I have an amazing girlfriend, Sarah, who I've been lucky enough to share the last 7 years with. We're both not religious/ atheist, but open-minded and courteous. Both open to Rainbow community. I have a huge family, and am a physical therapist/ physio. I lived in Oregon for 6 years so am not new to the USA, and have visited Canada twice. I've visited and worked in England, and spent time in Germany, Italy, Southeast Asia, and Australia.

Sarah and I have moved from New Zealand to Vancouver B.C. and now to Nelson B.C.. I’m working as a building labourer and Sarah is in business.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have so much to see and hope that you can help. I will happily return the favour!

I love meeting kind and interested people.

I like listening. Couchsurfing lends well to that :)

We hope to meet some friends we can share this exciting chapter with!

Interests

Interests... hmmm, yeah again coffee and pasta. But also sport.

I lived in Oregon so naturally I'm a Ducks and Trailblazer fan but I also love the outdoors- snowboarding, white-water rafting, hiking, body-surfing. I love travel- have been to 12 countries (including a few in Europe, Southeast Asia and the South Pacific). Physical therapy/ physio feels like more of an interest than a job!

  • coffee
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • snowboarding
  • sports

Music, Movies, and Books

I'll get down to (almost) anything.

My spotify: has everything from Buble to Sepeltura, The Beatles to Ben Harper, Trivium or Bob, Slipknot, or WuTang, Chance or Kenny Chesney, The National or maybe some J Cole. A little Avenged Sevenfold, or maybe some Arctic Monkeys... Alison Wonderland, Glass Animals, War on Drugs, GoldLink, Mallrat, Jurrasic 5 etc.

Books: science fiction, travel, biographical, stories of great suffering and overcoming that. Podcasts and audiobooks +++ (recent book listens include Talking to Strangers- Malcolm Gladwell, Shantaram- David Roberts, God Delusion - Richard Dawkins, and The Inconvenient Indian- Thomas King).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Kayaking and had a pod of Orca pop up within 20- 30m radius of my kayak -> in Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson, New Zealand.

Teach, Learn, Share

Love sharing some advice on managing one's own health. Managing aches, pains, how to work/ live smarter and stronger etc.

Anything related to sports.

Always up for general political/ philosophical banter, especially from a point of view of phenomenology.

Advice on traveling to SE Asia.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Positive reframing of health messages
Musings and thoughts on the environment and general sciences
Why its perfectly OK to LOVE hip-hop/ rap, and to also love classical music!!!
Why you should visit New Zealand and stay with Sam and Sarah

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, England, Germany, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, New Zealand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sam’s full profile.