Samuel Smith's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samuel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Co-owner of a motorcycle tour company
  • B.S. in Construction Management with a focus in sustainab...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Buenas! My name is Sam and I just finished motorcycling through South America over the past year. I started my travels in Northern Colombia and made my way down to Huaraz, Peru before heading back up North to set roots in Santa Marta, Colombia. I don't have a house yet but if you are looking for some advice or places and things to do in Northern Colombia, let me know! I have a very social and outgoing personality and enjoy learning about new people and cultures. My spanish is intermediate but is getting better every day!

Before leaving the States I was a Project Manager for a roofing and solar company. After 3 years of long hours and little rest I decided that building my resume up at the cost of doing something I wasn't happy with was not what I wanted to continue doing with my life. My real passion is traveling and meeting fellow travelers. I have spent time traveling around Europe, going to school in Mexico, and volunteering at a sustainable treehouse community in Costa Rica.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am looking to meet new awesome people that want to explore my new home of Northern Colombia. Soon enough I will have a spare room for you to crash in but until then if you are looking for ome advice on whatto do, let me know!


I like learning about different cultures and lifestyles, this is the main reason I travel. I love cooking and learning new dishes, I am hoping that some day I will open up my own little restaurant. Outdoor activities is what you will usually find me doing in my spare time- motorcycling, biking, camping, hiking, or just hanging around outside.

  • cooking
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • business
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy reading a lot now that I have time. I don't really stick to one genre though. Whatever people suggest to me, I usually give it a try. Some of my favorite books from this trip: Shantaram, The Book Thief, Marching Powder, Dharama Bums, and Never Cry Wolf.

I like all different types of music but usually stick to chilled out music whether that be electronic, old rock or some yoga music to wake up to.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In May of 2015 I decided I wasn't happy doing the same thing day in and day out so I sold most everything I owned, quit my job, and bought a 1 way ticket to Colombia. I am now starting a business in Northern Colombia and we will see where it goes!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love learning about cooking and teaching what I've learned. Learning to cook new dishes is something I try to do in new places I go. I also have been making my own hot sauces on this trip and would love to teach you how to make some hot sauce if you are interested!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Samuel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups