Logo orange

Samuel Fensterheim

London, London, United Kingdom

Wants to Meet Up

100% response rate · Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samuel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 216 Positive References3 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, Persian (Farsi), Spanish; learning Dari Persian, French, Pashto, Pushto, Tajik
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Pashto-Dari-English interpreter
  • BA in Human Geography and a year in ...
  • From London, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

A bit ying and yang, I prefer either to engage in deep thought and contemplation, or, to throw all logic out of the window and act spontaneously. I love meeting people and exploring new places. There is a wealth of opportunities on Earth and I feel it would be a crime not to take advantage of all the beauty that life has to offer.

I am definitely an outdoors enthusiast, and I feel most alive when my heart is beating heavily and the wind is in my hair!I find it extremely difficult to go without exercise and I'm a lover of pretty much anything involving physical exertion. Although I'm not good at all sports, I'd like to think I'd try anything once. In fact, this applies not only to sports, but to everything...... Where are we going then?!

I grew up in London until the age of 18, at which point I left home for university in Wales. I studied Human Geography for 3 years and one of these was spent on exchange in Montana, USA. The day after I finished university I jumped on my bicycle and embarked on a trip to New Zealand. By the time I got to Iran, after two and a half months, I was pretty tired and felt as if I'd been passing through places at such a pace that I couldn't familiarise myself with them, or at least get an accurate picture of life how is actually lived.

So....... one slightly drunken night, having never even considered the idea before, I decided to stay in Tehran and live out this image that had popped into my head. I stayed there for a year, learning the language in the process, and then slowly made my way back to England- but this time without my bike. Following that, I spent a few months hitch-hiking round New Zealand, and then worked in South Korea for a year and a half. I then moved to Colombia and started an MA, only to have to leave four months later. Suddenly forced back to the Middle East, I spent a year working in Iraqi Kurdistan teaching English. Now comes a new job working for the ICRC in Afghanistan. First I'll spend four months un Tajikistan, learning Pashto, and then into the field.

PHILOSOPHY

Don't follow your dreams, chase them. No sigas tus sueños, persígalos.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I´ll try provide a helping hand to people whom I meet and reciprocate the phenomenal hospitality that I have experienced when couchsurfing. If ever I can be of help just ask.

Intentaré dar una mano solidaria a la gente que conozca y reciprocar la hospitalidad fenomenal que he experimentado cuando haciendo Couchsurfing. Si alguna vez puedo ayudarle avisáme.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Muchos recurridos en bicicleta en Europa y una vez desde Inglaterra hasta Irán. Cuatro meses en Nueva Zelanda haciendo dedo. He hospedado a un montón de personas en todos los lugares que he estado y trato de usar la pagina en cualquier sitio que estoy.

I cycled from Aberystwyth to Dundee at Easter, couchsurfing every night and meeting loads of amazing people.

I hitch-hiked round the Southern Wales, staying with couchsurfers in Cardiff, Swansea and Pembrokeshire.

I cycled from my university in mid-Wales, to Pwlhelli in the northwest of the country.

I cycled from Marseille to Barcelona over the course of a week, couchsurfing everynight.

I travelled down south from Montana, and then up the west coast of the US, couchsurfing along the way.

I stayed in Italy and Slovenia for 10 days, couchsurfing, and was lucky enough to take a couchsurfing dog hitchhiking and walking in the mountains everyday.

Cycled from London to Tehran over the course of 3 months.

Hitch-hiked round New Zealand for two and a half months, staying with whoever I happened to bump into.

Many other random excursions.

Interests

Laughing; learning about people;cycling; walking dogs; running; squash; table tennis; festivals; music; films; the environment; hiking; clubbing; having adventures; being spontaneous; traveling; swimming; kayaking; poker; Farsi;philosophy; documentaries and eating both bread and ice cream

Reír;conocer y aprender sobre la gente; montar en bicicleta; pasear perros; trotar; squash; tenis de mesa; festivales; música; películas; el medio ambiente; senderismo; rumbear; explorar; ser espontáneo; viajar; nadar; navegar en kayak; poker; persa; filosofía; documentales y comer pan y helado!

Music, Movies & Books

The Matrix, Pulp Fiction, Clockwork Orange, Pan's Movies: Labyrinth, This is England, Fight Club, Layer Cake, Lock Stock n Two Smokin Barrels, Wayne's World, Dumb and Dumber, Kevin and Perry go Large, Shaun of the Dead, 28 Days Later, Donnie Darko.

Oh yeah and Superbad (its awesome)

Music: Everything, but especially Hip-hop, House and electronic stuff.

Books: Bill Bryson(travel writer), Philp Pullman- His Dark Materials and various other travel books such as those by Ranulph Fiennes. Los Viajes del Viento by Isabelle Allende. The Kite Runner.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I cycled from London to Tehran Fui en bicicleta de Londres a Tehrán.

Bearing witness to a dance off between a big teddy bear and some random guys that gatecrashed a party that I was at in Portland.

El ser testigo de una batalla de breakdance entre un osito de peluche y unos tipos que se colaron en la fiesta en la que estaba en Portland.

Teach, Learn, Share

Feel free to probe me for any knowledge that I have. Possible topics include: English, sports science, nutrition, the environment and anything else that happens to be floating round in my brain at the time. I must add that I'd quite like to share my impersonations of people with you, though it's not compulsory.

No dude en preguntarme por conocimientos que tengo. Asuntos posibles incluyen: ingles, persa, ciencia de deportes; nutrición; el medio ambiento y cualquier cosa que estoy pensando en ese momento. Debo mencionar que también tengo un gusto por compartir mis imitaciónes de personas, pero no es obligatorio escucharme.

What I Can Share With Hosts

Pretty much anything that I know or have experienced. I can definitely help you with languages or sports because I am crazy about both of them. A good hike and some adventuring is also definitely on the cards. Laughing is also very good. Let's try and share some laughter.

Countries I've Visited

Afghanistan, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iran, Islamic Republic of, Italy, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tajikistan, Turkey, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Colombia, Iran, Islamic Republic of, Iraq, Korea, Republic of, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Samuel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile