Sander Huissen's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 97% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sander’s full profile.

Overview

  • 36 references 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Deventer, Overijssel, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Amsterdam is a tourist hotspot again! Let me know if you know if you need a place to sleep. Please read the room info first, if you don't I will most likely decline your request.

I’m taking a break from traveling because of the pandemic. But of course I'm making new plans in my dreams.

I'm in the middle of seeing the world, one step at a time, without planning too far ahead. So far it's been great. I started long term solo travel in February 2018.

Couchsurfing is very important to me because it takes you to the places like the local restaurant with no English menu or the most pretty park in the city that’s not in the guidebook. I don’t like mass tourism and love to hear the real stories and experiences.

Feel free to ask me anything! To see some of my travel pics you can happily take a look at my instagram @sanderhomes

Share a room, share a planet

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The best experiences can’t be found in guidebooks but come from the people.

Interests

Adventure, history, geography, anthropology, hiking, exploring, photography, reading, cycling, food

  • photography
  • cooking
  • movies
  • reading
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • geography
  • history
  • adventure travel
  • nature
  • adventure
  • sleeping
  • cities
  • exploring
  • antropology

Music, Movies, and Books

I love talking about these but I hate making lists! Must be my terrible memory.

Music: everything that makes me feel good.
Some bands: The Velvet Underground, Yo La Tengo, Nujabes, Arctic Monkeys
Movies: some favourites are: Good Time, Wind River, Your Name, Chungking Express
Books: I love to trade books. Some favourites: Catch22, Jack Reacher and Norwegian Wood

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

“How does it feel?
To be without a home
Like a complete unknown
Like a rolling stone”

I found out! :)

In Australia I cycled from Brisbane to Cairns. Something I didn't know I could do. It changed my view of traveling long distances. I hope to do more bicycle touring in the future

Teach, Learn, Share

I studied history so I love to go to sights in the area and learn random facts and connect them with other random facts. Also I love to learn your language better so I can order at restaurants more easily! I can make you Dutch or European food, but I prefer to learn other styles!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I like to think I’m a funny and smart guy. Some people confirm it too!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Japan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Netherlands, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Sander’s full profile.