Sandra Schusser's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sandra’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Swedish; learning French, Russian, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • PhD Student
  • Many years spent in education institutions. Does that mea...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I am PhD Student at the Swedish Agricultural University, but that does not mean I know a lot about agriculture. In fact, I am an economist. Of the nice sort, the environmental type. This is the reason why I moved to Umeå.
We just came back from a bike trip from Sweden to Iran, and try to settle down again.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My former flatmate is on couchsurfing - we sometimes had a couchsurfer staying with us. Now that she moved away, it was about time that I signed up myself. My boyfriend is in charge of presenting us on the cyclist-hosting-network warmshowers.org and I am taking over responsibility for inviting people and getting us a couch on this platform. We live in Sweden, an expensive country, so why should not a lonely traveler find refuge in our guest room?
Plus, we were on a bike trip 2017/2018 and stayed with so many nice people (mostly unscheduled though, that we want to give some of that hospitality back to other travellers.

Interests

I really like sports. I started of with Modern Pentathlon but see myself more as a triathlete nowadays even though I am not strictly doing any triathlons now. But I swim, run and bike a couple of times every week. I try to cross-country ski, even if little children are faster than me. I annoy everyone with my talk about the benefits of yoga whenever they tell me about their health problems. Behind my house (not really my and not rally an own house, but still), there is a nice forest where I like to take walks and pick mushrooms - a new hobby since this autumn (still alive, no mix-up with the species, yet) and take pictures of the aurora.
If there is someone who will help me eat, I bake, German style, i.e. cookies and cakes in huge amounts (you have to know that cookies and cakes can make whole meals, not just a desert) and bread that is, unlike the Swedish one, not sweet. The sourdough and wild yeast I use for this have names and personalities. Don't laugh at them or they will grow mould.

  • trail running
  • read
  • bike
  • cookies

Music, Movies, and Books

I am not really a music person. I discovered recently that the music I like actually belongs to a genre called Indie Folk.
But I am a book person. After moving around for studies with only a bare necessity of books, I finally settle down for a longer than a year which means some books are allowed to come with me. Among those, all the books from David Mitchell and Jasper Fforde, my Jamie-books (otherwise known as Outlander series), the obligatory Jane Eyre, some historical novels, everything mostly British. My boyfriend has just started to convince me that there is some German literature worth reading.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have done a middle distance triathlon and enjoyed it.

Getting undressed at the (signed) request of a stranger without knowing why and running eve-like through her garden (turned out to be an invitation into the banja).

Cycled to Iran.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach how to use Excel (as more than a calculator). I could probably also teach you some microeconomic theory but why would you want any of that?

I might share the secret family recipes of delicious and calorie-dense baked goods with you. And you can take a greatgreatgreat...grandson of Kokopelli the Second (that's my sourdough) to raise him and his descendants in your home.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Time over dinner. Cook together and then sit down together to devour and talk.
In exchange for a postcard or photo for our wall.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Iran, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Nepal, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Turkey, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Spain, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Sandra’s full profile. It’s free!