Sanjay and Cholpon's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sanjay’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Arabic, Hindi, Kyrgyz, Russian, Spanish
  • 29, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Students, the both of us.
  • Indeed! Love a good discussion.
  • From North Dakota, US of A
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Get some sun. Then to SF!

ABOUT ME

Cholpon and I are on a mission to avoid missions for a little while, traveling to slow down. We are planning on coming through the UK and then going to India, Qatar, Kyrgyzstan, and a few places in between. We look at Couchsurfing as the best way to meet interesting people in our journeys and to create good memories with like minded folks. Currently, Cholpon is going to school at Occidental College in LA, studying diplomacy and learning even more languages (6 or 7 now!) while Sanjay is reading, carbonating, and reading in Hanover and Boston.

PHILOSOPHY

See "Philosophy": https://www.facebook.com/#!/sanjayseth?sk=info

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We hosted people at our home in North Dakota for a long while before there was any formal website to do so.. Now, we are traveling and love to meet people through Couchsurfing.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted couchsurfers many times, even though I lived for the most part in North Dakota. Folks would come through on cross country political tours and so on and stay at our home for a bit. We loved welcoming people in and getting to know their history, their ideas, and so on. We did that rather often, and it was always a great experience for our family. In that sense, I'm a true believer of the couch-surfing experience as a host and as a surfer, though I haven't yet had the chance to do much surfing of my own yet. Hopefully, this trip will change that!

Interests

Interests right now are especially in architecture/design/behavior in relation to politics/economics/sociology. Also, I'm interested in the relationship kids have with environments/concepts built by groups of adults and the things kids build themselves in response. But also, in learning glass blowing, yoga, meditation, relaxation, writing, and meeting new people. I'm very interested in environmentalism in all respects, including design and stewardship. I want to learn sculpture and painting and anything that has to do with using your hands to make something interesting. Both of us have been involved in music and theater in the US - and are on the way to a TED conference in Qatar this April. Going for new experiences and making new friends is our goal.

  • arts
  • writing
  • theater
  • architecture
  • design
  • cooking
  • baking
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • politics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • painting
  • music
  • surfing
  • martial arts
  • communications
  • economics
  • history
  • languages
  • sociology
  • tours

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watched a few hundred-thousand flamingos take flight at the same time over a lake at sunset on the plains in Kenya. Headstands on a cliff's edge on top of a mountain in Alaska.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love teaching people anything I can. I know martial arts, yoga, music/photo/movie editing, digital media of all sorts, political philosophy, economics, history, cooking (italian, indian, etc), baking (I make some mean, mean cookies), design, creative writing, languages, finance, and so on. Love learning new skills!

Countries I’ve Visited

France, India, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Russian Federation, South Korea

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sanjay’s full profile. It’s free!