Daniel Costigan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 8 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Portuguese; learning Spanish, Swedish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Student, citizen, traveler, artist.
  • I have one quarter left in my undergraduate degree. I'm t...
  • From Born in Pittsburgh, PA. Formative years in Columbus, OH.
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I want to meet people and see where life takes me. I'm trying to start making art (video and music, among other things), and I'd like to meet people who have similar interests. I go wherever life takes me with an open mind.

ABOUT ME

I'm a normal abnormal person. I have a good sense of humor, I'm usually a relaxed person, and I try to make as many friends as I can wherever I go.

PHILOSOPHY

I don't eat meat, but I don't mind people who do. I don't need to be loud, but I do like being heard when I have things to say. Being happy and remaining positive is very important to me, and I generally surround myself with people who feel similarly. I'm a proponent of tolerance and acceptance, so as long as what you're doing isn't hurting you or someone else I have no problem with it. I don't like making flash judgments about people, but I do realize that sometimes it's necessary to make judgment calls about things and people. I have faith that deep down almost everyone is a good person. I'm an optimist, a realist, a dreamer. I fear this sounds arrogant, but I don't know any other way to answer this prompt.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now I'm not in my own home or my "home town," but I always like to meet new people, and am open to help in any way I can. I'm actually crashing at someone's house in California for a period of time, but once I'm back home I'll always be willing to host people, or at the least go out and show them around interesting places I know about. I also have good friends in various cities around the U.S. (and some places abroad as well), so I'm always willing to help anyone with figuring out their own travel plans in any way I can. I'm a big fan of making music (and art in general), so if anyone is interested in joining me I'm always open. While I'm on the west coast I'd also like to meet new people here and visit as many cities as I can, so if anyone is interested in hosting me, I'd be thrilled.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've never used this website, but I've always shared my home with friends when they need a place to crash or just hang out and relax, and I usually rely on them for the same. I recently let some friends sleep at my house in Ohio on their way out to California, and now they're letting me stay at their house while I'm here. As Bob Dylan said "everybody must give something back for something they get," so I'm always willing to help people out in the ways I've been helped in the past.

Interests

Making music, movies, new things; doing all things artistic. I like having fun and laughing. I'm always interested in making new friends and exploring as many facets of the world as I can. I think life is meant to be enjoyed, so I try to

  • arts
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I like good music, movies and books, and don't keep my tastes within certain genres just to remain consistent. I don't have a list of favorites, but I definitely have artists and pieces of art I prefer over others. If you're really curious about my tastes, just ask about them.

Generally I'm a fan of people who go beyond simply consuming art and who take steps to making it themselves.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I don't think specific places I've gone are amazing in themselves, and I don't like comparing travel logs because it seems like a way of showing off. There are amazing things everywhere. Looking up at the sky almost always provides me with some form of amazement.

If you're interested in finding out specific places I've gone or things I've done that I've enjoyed, I'd rather have it come up organically in conversation, so I suggest you get in touch with me.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a really good ear for music, so I am always willing to teach people to play musical instruments or learn new ones along with them. I speak Portuguese and Italian pretty well, so I'm able to help with people who are interested in those languages (I also have some familiarity with Spanish, and a rudimentary Swedish use from studying it in college). I've been studying tarot cards, and I'm always willing to give people readings if anyone so desires. I'm always interested in learning new and interesting things, so if there's anything practical or artistic you'd be willing to teach me, I'd be game.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Italy, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!