Sara Porta's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile.

Overview

  • 15 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish; learning German
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Erasmus+ Project Assistant
  • Universidad de Bolonia + Erasmus en Universidad de Córdob...
  • From Ferrara, Ferrara, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

[I am also available in Spanish and Italian]

IMPORTANT:
If you use CS to take advantage of female travelers, DO NOT answer me and DO NOT write me.
_______________________________________

Hey you!
My name is Sara and I am 28 y.o.
I hold a degree in Translation and Interpreting and a MA in Human rights and migrations, however, my true passion is traveling and leaving my comfort zone.

Thanks to my experiences abroad, I have met a lot of people and I have overcome several adversities.
I am a (veeery) curious, respectful, funny, outgoing, clean, adventurous and quite stubborn girl ;)

When I was living and studying in Argentina, I had the incredible opportunity to meet extraordinaty people from CS. Once I came back home, I felt that I had to do the same for other travelers, so when I was living in Athens I had the chance to host 3 female travelers in my studio.
I guess I really love CS, because it is not just about meeting strangers and new people, it is also about discovering new cultures and points of view.
For this reason, I would like to repeat this experience, because I really enjoy sharing my stories and listening to new ones.

Even if I used to travel alone and organize my trips all by myself, I love doing not planned activities with my hosts ;D
I trust 100% my hosts, because nobody knows better a place than local people, so I will be happy to share my time with you.

Regards,
Sara

PS:
1) I am teetotal
2) I only eat meat when I'm traveling
3) I do not drink coffee
4) I do not like dolphins
5) I do not smoke
6) I am asthmatic
7) I am talkative (sometimes too much)

🔸Sharing is caring🔸

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

After many years without travelling and sharing with other travelers, I consider that it is time to go back and to make my life richer in experiences.
My personal motto is "Sharing is caring" and, well, I guess this is the right place where to put into practice my idea :)

Interests

What I love the most?

-Traveling
-Learning new languages
-Having deep conversations
-Reading
-Listening to music (mainly Indie)
-Eating hummus and falafels :)
-Trying typical and local food
-Visiting museums and
-Sharing personal life stories

  • traveling
  • study abroad
  • adventure
  • wanderlust

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Milky Chance, Kasabian, Vance Joy, Daughter, Carla Morrison, The Crystal Fighters, The 1975, Jack's Mannequin, Jesse and Joy, Of Monsters and Men, Foster the people...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

At the age of 19, since I couldn't enroll in university, I went to live and work as an au pair in Madrid.
I took care of two children and I consider that that experience marked a before and after in my life.
Leaving my small Italian town made me understand that I had to leave my prejudices aside and that I had to explore and get to know what I had around me.
After almost a year in the Spanish capital, I returned to Italy and started university, however, what had once been my dream had turned into a nightmare.
Once I had completed my exams, I went to work as an au pair in Murcia until the beginning of September (2015), when I started my erasmus in Cordoba. I stayed there for 10 months and in June I went to Pamplona. From June to September I lived with a Spanish family and it was my third au pair experience (one of the nicest).
I returned to Italy in September 2016.
From February to August 2017, I lived in Cordoba (this time the one in Argentina) where I carried out an exchange of 6 months.
From September to January 2018 I worked at the Italian Institute of Culture in Athens.
In March 2018 I graduated and from April I started my new life dedicated to volunteering.
From April to July 2018, I volunteered in Gaziantep, in the south of Turkey, with Syrian and Afghan refugees.
From July to September 2018, I worked in an NGO in Germany and in the last months of 2018 I worked in an NGO in Tbilisi, Georgia.
After all these experiences, I decided to go back home and to focus on a MA in Human rights and migrations. In the meanwhile, I was working in a local NGO in Ferrara, close to my hometown.
I got my Master's degree in May 2022 and I am currently working for a social enterprise in Pisa (Tuscany).

Teach, Learn, Share

I am very open-minded and I love to learn new things. In these years I have understood that it is important to share what you have experienced with others, because it is a way to build invisible bridges between different cultures and people.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I could share my grandmother's recipes, teach you some Italian/Spanish/English, tell you funny and crazy stories and laugh a lot together :D

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Egypt, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Turkey, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Italy, Spain, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile.