Sara Rook's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Teacher
  • Brighton university
  • From England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

I am a primary school teacher and teach mostly in international schools, I am currently traveling with my husband across central and South America for the next 8 months. My husband is a graphic designer from Mexico City so he is obviously fluent in Spanish. He is 32 years old and keen to meet new people. We are currently homeless due to both quitting our jobs and going on this crazy driving adventure across the Americas but when we have finished and have a permanent home we would be more than willing to host couch surfers ourselves.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Looking to meet local people whilst traveling as we want to find out as much as possible about the places we are staying in. We have found, so far, that it is the best source of information and we want to really know the country before we move on. I am also learning Spanish so it is a great way for me to practice rather than just speaking with English speakers in hostels. We want to learn about local traditions and cultures as we are looking for a permanent home after traveling but also to develop a deeper understanding of the countries we are visiting. This is especially important to me being a teacher as I feel it is important to educate young children about the vast differences and similarities between cultures and people. Im very passionate about sharing my experiences with the children I teach.

Interests

I am interested in education, children and what this looks like in other countries. I also like to read books and keep up to date with local news issues. I am a keen cook and really miss cooking for people whilst traveling. Obviously we are both interested in travel and culture. Kike is a graphic designer so he enjoys drawing, art and tattoo designs. He also has a keen interest in music and films, especially science fiction. We love food and are keen to try local dishes wherever we travel.

  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • design
  • graphic design
  • education
  • dining
  • cooking
  • news
  • movies
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • teaching
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Everything and anything, we are pretty easy going when it comes to music and films. Our favourite is probably reggae and sci fi films. I love to read biographies and true stories from history.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

We swam with bioluminescent plankton in Puerto Escondido

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a teacher so I am happy to teach anything that I can, Kike is keen to share his art and make tattoo designs for people. We even brought the tattoo equipment with us if you dare to have one done! And we really want to learn about your culture and country!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Language and our experiences of traveling so far. Cooking different foods from countries we've visited. Tattoo designs from Kike. Open mindness and the willingness to interact with local people and traditions. Oh and any food (like Belizean hot sauce) we have picked up along the way!!!

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, France, Guatemala, Jamaica, Mexico, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, France, Mexico, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile. It’s free!