Logo orange

Sarah Parnell

Sacramento, CA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 25 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Work with Special Needs
  • B.A. in Psychology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live out of my comfort zone and remain always curious, always Inspired.

ABOUT ME

I'm Sarah! I'm Californian, not to be confused with American. I am enjoying the unrefined traveler's life, instead of growing up at the moment. Well actually, I'm back to a normal state of being, but just for the moment. I live in Sacramento and currently work at Sacramento International Hostel down town, come say hi! There's actually some interesting stuff besides all the touristy-ness, and some good pubs ;)

In the meantime you can get to know me better by my writing and photography. Check out my travels/inspirations/passions here:

--------> adioscali.com

PHILOSOPHY

Left wing, right wing, chicken wing.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosted a bit while I lived in CH, but I mostly participate by motivating and inspiring all of us to meet up, hangout, and gain some new insight, experiences, and of course, friends in foreign places. I started a running group in Zurich, Switzerland that everyone seemed to love so I felt I really brought something to Zurich CS in that sense. I miss all those guys!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far, only positive experiences, I am also game to meet up and tour cities, grab a tea/ beer (depending on time of day) or make future travel plans with like minded, fun couch surf folk.

Interests

I love creative things. Music, music, music. Everything from jazz, to classical, to 90's alternative, to indie and electronic. I love talking music, philosophy, and anything somewhat intellectual yet value a good laugh also. It's actually mandatory. I like to draw, paint, and read with a nice cup of coffee or green tea. I love nature and grew up on the American river in California. I''m half hippy. I also went to college in Lake Tahoe, California where I enjoyed snowboarding, hiking, and laying on the beach.

TRAVELING (obviously).

Music, Movies & Books

Comedies. Anything with Will Ferrell makes my day better, but any well done movie will catch my interest.

Let's talk music, for hours. Please?

Books as of lately: The Sheltering Sky (Paul Bowles) ^This book resonates with me...you must read it!
-Moby Dick (Herman Melville)
-Tales of a Female Nomad (Rita Golden)
-Fight Club, Invisible Monsters (Chuck Palahniuk)
-The Dharma Bums, On the Road (Jack Kuerok)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

*Traveling Reminds You that Your Soul is Infinite...*

Here are some highlights of my trip thus far:

*Hiking La Calonque (southern France)
*Smokey late night jazz clubs in Prague
*Walking tour in Munich (not to name drop but Ozzy from Womats hostel is amazing)
*Hiking in Interlocken, Switzerland
*Amazingly hilarious Texans I met on night train to Florence
*Rooftop flat at we rented with Texans in Florence
*The Italian hospitality of Francesca in Bari, Italy. She fed us like Queens!
*Watching my first Greek sunrise on ferry from Bari to Patras.
*Riding a quad ALL day long through the golden landscape of Santorini. I truly fell in love with this place. It has a chunk of my heart.
*How pissed I was in Athens after not being abled to fly out twice, stuck at airport for 12 hrs, AND getting bedbugs.
*Awesome Australian tour guide in Corinth, Greece.
*The nicest most sincere and fun family I was an au pair for in Mataro, Spain. They made me feel so at home. There's no word in english or spanish to express my gratitude to them!
*The Swiss standard of life, and SNOW. Living there for 2.5 awesome months is quite a milestone.

*Most recent: my Balkan and Eastern Europe travels (Istanbul, North Cyprus, Sofia, Skopje, Belgrade, Budapest, Krakow, Vienna...to be continued...) I have found the most honest hospitality, brutal and intriguing history, and so many surprises along the way. I have ventured into a territory I thought to be too dangerous for a solo female traveler, and have grown much stronger, wiser, and a confident traveler!

Teach, Learn, Share

*Psychology major, amateur philosopher, crazed music buff, inspired writer, shy poet, musically inclined with skills on the guitar.

*Great cook, I have trouble leaving a host without first cooking them a great meal, preferably Cali-Mexican food which is my specialty.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Mexico, Netherlands, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile