Logo orange

Sarah-Jeanne Royer

Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah-Jeanne's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 10 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Portuguese, Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Student in biological oceanography, ...
  • M.Sc.
  • From Québec, Canada
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy life by meeting new people, and discovering aspects of a new culture, music, arts, food

ABOUT ME

I am a fun loving traveller with an aim to experience all different cultures in the world.

I have passed most of my life in Quebec city, Canada, where I have done most of my studies - studying biology since I am 18 years old. Through my technical and bachelor degrees in biology I got the chance to work as a biologist in Chili and Costa Rica. I also did a one year diploma course in international development where I worked as technician in agro-forestry in Mali and Burkina Faso.

In Mali, I got the chance to live in a muslim family in Bamako for 6 months where I learnt about other ways of living and also about myself. This trip was really intense and made me realize how it was important to discover other cultures to have a broader vision of different way of livings. I think that living with people from any place that you live or visit make you discover a completely different aspect and is inestimable compared to traveling that you can through hotels or living in apartments with people from your home country.

Through my bachelor degree, I also had the occasion to do an exchange program in Reunion Island for 6 months. I first lived in a student residence, but after two months, I moved in with a family. I was teaching the son of the family every night, just to pay my rent. The time I had with the family in Reunion and the creole way of living was completely different from my reality in Quebec and I really enjoyed to discover

After my bachelor I have done a research master in biological oceanography still in Quebec at Laval University. The experience was really interesting and motivated me to pursue in science. I also did a scientific project in biological oceanography at Universidade Federal de Pernambuco in Recife where I lived in a Brazilian family - another great experience. I am really interested by discovering more about the place and people by meeting new people.

I'm now doing a PhD in biological oceanography in Barcelona where my boyfriend is doing his postdoc. I just moved here and I still did not find a proper place to live, but once I will be set I will be more than happy to offer a couch in Barcelona :)

PHILOSOPHY

Just one life - live it to the fullest.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Since I started being a member of couch surfing i just had great experiences and I also heard just good comments about CS.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far I had very good couch surfing experiences, especially while traveling in Brazil! I also hosted a couple from California at my boyfriend's house in Toledo last spring and it was a great experience. I intend to host many more people once I will have a couch in Barcelona. It will be a pleasure to give the opportunity to travellers to come to my place and share time in my city!

Interests

Traveling, running, hiking, bird watching, snorkeling, reading, going out for a drink with friends...

Music, Movies & Books

Life is Beautiful, Green Line, "Le grand cahier", Thomas Fersen, Gotan Project, Dead can dance, Vanessa Da Mata, Manu Chao, The Doors, Sting, Gorillaz, Ben Harper, Bedouin Soundclash, Dobacaracol

One Amazing Thing I've Done

INDIA!

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah-Jeanne's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile