Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 17 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Russian; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Student for life I think. Currently doing a Master in Geo...
  • MA in Regional Studies of Russia and Central Asia
  • From Syracuse, New York, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end. I strive to live in the moment and cherish the journey and everyone I meet along the way...


I am a sociable, outgoing positive person. I like to laugh. Learning languages and cycling are my hobbies. Keep it simple.


Live life one day at a time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I welcome travelers to my into home with open arms. I listen intently and tell stories in turn.


Couch surfing is a brilliant idea and I have met many wonderful, open-minded, and profoundly interesting people in the CS community


Learning new things, spending time in nature, reading, cycling

  • arts
  • festivals
  • dining
  • wine
  • movies
  • chess
  • reading
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • languages
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

bluegrass and jazz, and FUNK, Bob Dylan, Medeski Martin & Wood, Frank Zappa, Green Day

a big fan of Jack London, Hemingway, Turgenev, Dostoyevsky, Vonnegut, F. Scott Fitzgerald, and Khaled Hosseini

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

elephant-riding through the jungle in Chitwan national park, Nepal
hitchhiking in Serbia, Germany, Cz. Republic
learned the art of pranayama breathing with friends in Nepal
participated in Sabantuy festival in Kazan, Tatarstan
visited Georgia directly after the war with Abkhazia/South Ossetia in August 2008
kruger national park in South Africa 2007

Teach, Learn, Share

what I can teach you: chess, Russian and English, how to increase your antioxidant levels, how to think positively,

what you could teach me: Italian or Spanish

what we can share: impressions of films, adventure stories, laughter and good food and wine

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, France, India, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Nepal, Netherlands, South Africa

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Germany, Russian Federation, Ukraine

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups