saurav talukdar's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see saurav’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Assamese, English, Hindi
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Research Assistant
  • BS and MS in Mechanical Engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I live in San Jose since July 2018. I moved here for work after finishing my grad school. Living in San Jose has let me get into a lot of hiking and camping. I love to spend time in the woods.

I was a PhD student in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Minnesota. I have been living in Minneapolis since Fall 2013. I was born and brought up in Guwahati, Assam, India and spent 16 years there after which I spent a couple of years in Rajasthan, India. Before moving to Minneapolis, I lived in Mumbai, India for 5 years.

I am very much into running, biking and swimming. Recently, I started learning sailing at the beautiful lakes of Minneapolis.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am here to meet new people and know about their experiences. Whenever I go to a new place I just talk to locals like a cab driver, waitress etc about suggestions and those suggestions have been amazing. Through couchsurfing I hope to meet new people who would give me inputs to make my trip a memorable one.

Interests

  • italian food
  • chinese food
  • indian food
  • mexican food
  • running
  • live music
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • sailing
  • american football
  • swimming
  • wilderness
  • biking
  • wild camping
  • thai food
  • backcountry

Music, Movies, and Books

Some songs I like: a) I walk a lonely road - Green Day
b) Dance of the Death - Iron Maiden
c) Carnival of Rust - Poets of the Fall
Movies: Shawshank Redemption, Departed, Bourne series, LOTR

Books: Ignited Minds, Treasure Island, The Alchemist, Life of Pi

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Swam for 12 hours
Ran a marathon
Hike Mt Whitney, Mt Shasta

Teach, Learn, Share

I am happy to teach a guest a few Indian dishes to cook and also some Hindi/ Assamese

I would love to learn from my guest a new language, a new dish, new places to visit and exercise routines

What I Can Share with Hosts

My bike, bed,... just name it :p

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Mexico, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see saurav’s full profile.