SCHILLFAMILY's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 40% response rate
  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see SCHILLFAMILY’s full profile.

Overview

  • 29 references 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 52, Other
  • Member since 2007
  • Conservation Scientist
  • PhD Geography
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Get lost whenever possible on some remote corner of the planet

ABOUT ME

I'm fortunate to have a job that involves three of my top passions - travel, maps, and nature. I work for The Nature Conservancy, helping countries protect nature and develop sustainable livelihoods. Having visited 70+ countries so far, I have been blessed to meet amazing people from all over the world.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is short - be good and have fun. Remember, you don't stop playing because you grow old, you grow old because you stop playing.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My job takes me to very interesting places around the world and whenever possible, I try to bring my family of five with me. My wife and I have three daughters, ages 23, 21, and 11. We are looking forward to meeting CS families with other teenage daughters. We think CS provides a wonderful opportunity to open the world of culture to your family. What an education and opportunity!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We spent five weeks visiting 12 countries in Europe and stayed with wonderful couchsurfing families in every country. What a fantastic experience to meet so many open and interesting families.

Interests

Steve: Telemark Skiing, Guitar, and Scuba
Jen: Read, Run, and Home Improvement
Aubree: Sing, Dance, and Theater
Brinnan: Piano, Travel, and Read
Campbelle: Draw, Watch TV, and Playing with Friends

  • culture
  • singing
  • theater
  • dancing
  • education
  • running
  • tv
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • guitar
  • piano
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • telemark skiing
  • cartography
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Peter Mayer, John Gorka, David Wilcox, Richard Shindell, Lucy Kaplansky, Pierce Pettis, Alice Peacock, Bebo Norman, Cheryl Wheeler, Christine Kane, Ellis Paul, Francis Cabrel, Keb Mo

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Visiting the Mountain Gorillas in Rwanda and the Orangutans in Borneo. Surviving a nasty bite from a fer-de-lance in Costa Rica (still waiting for the super human abilities to kick in)

Teach, Learn, Share

Everyone has something to share and something to learn from.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Travel stories!

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Democratic Republic of Congo, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, France, Gabon, Germany, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mexico, Monaco, Mozambique, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S., Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica, France, Switzerland, United States

Old School Badges

  • 3 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see SCHILLFAMILY’s full profile.

My Groups