Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mandy’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 55 References 25 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Spanish; learning Catalan, Valencian, Hungarian
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • I float between teaching and learning and learning and te...
  • University degree in English Literature from University o...
  • From Bath
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I've been away for a while but now I'm back! After many years roaming from place to place, I've settled in Berlin, a place I am proud to call home! Not travelling as much now and unfortunately have no space to host (Berlin flats can be tiny!) but am happy to guide and advise on request!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like to share experiences with people, have given lots of advice on what to do in the places where i have been/lived.

Met some incredible people at cs parties in Barcelona, my first surf was in Sydney with 3 awesome guys, also surfed in Bali where my host became more like my sister! (we bonded the first night over gin and guy talk!). been to some wacky parties in Melbourne and have managed to help and be helped by many travelers (thank-u all!). east coast of Oz surfing was full of random meetings, chili cooking, carnivale dancing, massages and sing star. Colombian couchsurfing was incredible, met hosts and their families, one especially who took us in as if we were some of their own. amazingly generous and beautiful people! every person i have met has been wonderful! here's to the next awesome person! cant wait!

Interests

Where to start? i love learning new languages, customs and about different cultures. Food is always interesting, making it, buying it, preparing it then finally, and best, eating it. i love to read and write, especially Latino literature and anything which is based on something historical. i really want to get back into making my own clothes, used to do that a lot when i lived at home. music is a great passion, playing it, listening to it, i promise i wont sing in your presence unless i know you well enough, i wouldnt subject anyone to that!!

  • literature
  • singing
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • partying
  • clothing
  • traveling
  • music
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • languages
  • tourism
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

lets see, the last movie i saw was The Magnificant 7! I'm not a movie snob, il watch anything to be entertained; currently am a bit obsessed with the band Orishas and The XX, worked the Isle of Wight festival and renewed my love for live music. Living in Berlin really caters for that, although there is a distinct lack of latin based gigs here; books, coming from Bath i do like Jane Austen, or anything based on a time or event in history, latino literature including Marquez and Allende, 1984 and Brave New World are 2 of my favourite novels; Im one of those people who reads several books at a time. Bret Easton Elias has recently caught my attention too. Poetry is one of my passions as well, Whitman, Frost, Byron, Lorca. I like to write as well, but only for myself.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

the list is endless! i think you can get something out of every experience you have. sunset over Gili Meno, the view from the bottom of the Grand Canyon up, the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, swimming in icey cold water in Bridalveil falls in Yosemite national park, the mountains of sea lions in the harbour of San Fransisco, white water rafting down the Colorado river, isle of Wight festival, 12 apostles at sunset, Uluru with champagne at sunset, sunset at Semaphore beach while couch surfing with Tony seeing dolphins, getting stuck in the Brisbane floods, a Turkish henna party, Estonian swamps, Berlin (no need for an explanation, you get it)...

Teach, Learn, Share

i'll teach you english if you teach me german!

What I Can Share with Hosts

My favourite thing to do when surfing is to cook a meal together!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Indonesia, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France, Germany, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Mandy’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups