Heather Schultz's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Heather’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • No occupation listed
  • International Affairs degree at CU Boulder
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi there! My name is Heather. I am 28 years old and enjoy nature and the outdoors, cooking, reading, writing, traveling, hiking, camping and rock climbing. I lead a fairly active and rich life but also value quiet, contemplative moments. I am patient, compassionate and open-minded. I am also intentional in how I spend my days, my interactions with others and in noticing the little joys. I am curious about life and enjoy meeting people from different backgrounds, sharing meaningful conversation and embracing new ways of thought. I strive to create authentic space so that others can show up and be human too. I believe in the basic goodness of human beings.

I grew up in a small town in New Jersey before moving to Colorado for university. During my time at university, I spent one year living in Strasbourg, France then moved to a small village in Benin (West Africa) for Peace Corps service. I taught English to high school and middle school students and worked within the community on various projects.

Upon returning to the States I moved to Los Angeles and lived there for five years - exploring, working, and living on the west coast.

I am currently traveling and discovering more about how I want to shape my life in a different way than the societal norm.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been the guest to several couch surfers and I have also hosted once. I love the idea and philosophy behind couchsurfing, and I have met some great friends while doing it! I appreciate the human connection as well as the alternative to paying for a warm place to stay.

Interests

Meditation, reading, journaling/writing, rock climbing, hiking, biking, walking, all types of music, yoga and relaxation, gardening, tea, simplicity, and the great outdoors.

  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • yoga
  • running
  • walking
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

music - classic rock, mellow, bluegrass and jams, rock, anything that suites my mood...I love live music.
books - lots, lots, lots. Some favorites right now are Norwegian Wood, House of the Spirits, Anna Karenina, East of Eden, Siddhartha
I like films but usually need a recommendation before I'll watch it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

a polar plunge into an ice covered lake outside of Stockholm...quite invigorating

Teach, Learn, Share

teach: about Beninese and American culture
learn: more about alternative living
share: company, cooking and smiles

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good company, stories, cooking, help with washing the dishes

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Togo, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Benin, France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Heather’s full profile. It’s free!