Sara Leal's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 23 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile.

Overview

  • 37 references 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning French, Italian, Polish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Designer
  • originally Physiotherapy, but that's ancient history
  • From Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm on the road again! :)

I did a hitchhiking trip for 11 months in South and Central America in 2018/19. After that, life changed a little bit, the focus shifted to a new career and in 2021 I started to work as a Designer, living in Croatia, Poland and Portugal.

However, I like to live mantaining a level of enthusiasm and sense of wonder in life, so I challenged myself to go from Croatia to Portugal by land.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am immensely thankful to all of those who hosted me and my husband during our travel in Latin America. Whenever I find myself living steadily in one place I always like to receive others and give back to this community.

Couchsurfing has been one of the best ways to travel, as it is one of the best ways to meet the locals and get to know their culture.

Interests

I'm always interested in meeting people who are not afraid to challenge the status quo and have their own stories to share :)

  • theater
  • dancing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • backpacking
  • sailing

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Indie rock :) but I like a bit of everything...and specially to be surprised by the radio station

Movies: I have to admit that I have a sweet spot for The Gladiator

Books: Depends lot on the state of mind. Sometimes I want to read something that challenges me, that I can study and learn from, like personal growth or anthropological books; and sometimes I just want to be entertained and read a good novel.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

During the 11months travel:

- Hitchike a boat to cross the Atlantic
- Sail the Amazon River with a hammock (and later sell the hammock on the street)
- New Year's in Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro
- Tango lesson in Buenos Aires
- Walk by the habitat of sea lions, sea elephants, penguins and seals at a deserted beach close to Puerto Madryn
- Trekking in Ushuaia trails
- Hiking on the National Park of Torres del Paine (Chile), Fitzroy and Cerro Torre (Argentina) and Cerro Castillo (Chile)
- Spontaneously being hosted by a family living in a community at the tropic area of Bolivia
- Visit the Indigenous communities in Peru while hitchhiking boats through the rivers of the tropical area
- Almost joining a group of illegal immigrants to walk across from Colombia to Panama (Almost! We ended up flying but this was crazy enough just to actually consider)
- Climbing to the top of Mayan ruins, both in Guatemala and Mexico

Other travels:
- one week trip on a campervan around Iceland

Teach, Learn, Share

I can Teach Portuguese and how to crochet (who knows, maybe you're interested :P )
I can always Learn something new!

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Bolivia, Brazil, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, England, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, Italy, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Croatia, Denmark, Portugal

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile.