Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see SEAN.M14’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning Afrikaans, French, Swahili
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Young academic
  • I have two masters degrees; I wouldn't recommend this.
  • From Cape Town
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me


I'm starting to think that i'm an academic activist...


Not a very complicated person, but with some complicated thoughts on the world.

I've travelled a bit, first solo (UK, France, Spain, East and Southern Africa) and then more recently with my wife (Ghana, France, New York). I've lived in Johannesburg, Cape Town, London and Oxford. Back in Cape Town at the moment.

I prefer long trips to short ones but life unfortunately doesn't always allow for this - especially conference-related travel - so I take what I can get.

I love cycle touring.


I'm a pragmatic idealist. Sometimes cynical about how the world works but almost always optimistic that it can be improved!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I look for couches to meet interesting people, or if my budget is low for conference accommodation, or both! I like the idea of combining formal intellectual and social exchange with the informal provided by couch surfing.

I enjoy cooking and would be happy to make a contribution this way (advance notice of dietary preferences always helpful). I can cook you things from a South African 'bobotie' to a Hungarian chocolate bread or just a Thai green curry.

I am considerate, clean-up after myself (washing-up is no problem) and try not to get in the way.

Something important: I do sometimes wife can testify! So I check profiles to avoid couches in shared rooms; I don't want to deprive my host of sleep! :)


One so far, looking forward to more!

Hoping to host in Cape Town once we get a bigger place.


Lots. From sports to birdwatching to photography to cooking and that's not even mentioning all the academic and intellectual stuff.

Music, Movies, and Books

I like a wide range of music and have an open mind when it comes to new stuff. I'm an academic at heart as well as professionally so my book list is long. One of my favourite things is going to a second-hand book store and coming away with something I would never have thought of reading. I enjoy a good movie but hardly ever watch any.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A five month solo bicycle trip in East and Southern Africa; it was truly amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

As an academic I may not be the world's most useful person :) I can tell you about bike touring, about economics, about South African birds or politics, and some other things. Maybe there are things I am not thinking of that you would be interested in? Let's talk!

I like learning languages (although have let my French slip) and always interested in learning new skills.

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Tanzania

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see SEAN.M14’s full profile. It’s free!