Sebastian Cajas's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 94% response rate
  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sebastian’s full profile.

Overview

  • 61 references 45 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Spanish; learning German, Greek (modern)
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • AI Researcher
  • Msc Computer Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Not to regret the things I’ve done, but those I didn’t do

ABOUT ME

I've been living in a metropolis for the most of my life, half of it spent either on sea or up in the mountains, doing sports like hiking, trekking or reading in the mountains; my way of staying connected with nature.

As my age progressed, it became more difficult for me to be indifferent to all the damage we're causing to the environment while living in cities, performing our "duty" to consume and be another gear to the economic system. In search of an alternative way of living that is based on sharing and producing, I decided to quit my job; I want to look back at my life with pride, knowing I contributed to leaving the world a better place than I found it, instead of just watching mostly forward to my lunch hour, the unique moment when I allow a few of my passions to run free: I ride bicycle, hike montains, volunteer as a social worker and love stargazing!

I am a hard worker, and willing to try almost anything. I like talking about everything and living every opportunity ceaselessly too. Astronomy and volunteering are my biggest passions. I've cared for animals, worked as a physics/math teacher, led Astronomy classes, taught English and Italian, led social media marketing, and worked in a Astronomical Observatory in Colombia; it's all been an incredible experience!

Following the CS Philosophy (workaway side), I am the director of an astronomical observatory in Colombia. Volunteers who wanna have an astronomical experience amongst the beautiful starry nights of Colombia Can be part of this project by contacting our profile here https://www.workaway.info/en/host/312651932795

PHILOSOPHY

"I will love the light for it shows me the way, but I will endure the darkness because it shows me the stars". "Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing is an amazing way to open our horizon and be more understanding towards others, also It has allowed me to meet incredible people around the world, travelling is a character-building experience from which I've learned a lot despite I'm still new on it

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Going to a place you've never been, to meet someone you've never met....to stay in their house and hang out with them for a couple of days. Definitely something that was previously outside of my comfort zone!

Interests

  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • partying
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • astronomy
  • physics
  • nature
  • trekking

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I LOVE to hear stories of other peoples' travels! Some things I’ve done so far :

Hiked the highest geographical point on earth 🌍
Jumped from a train
Wrote a book

Teach, Learn, Share

I’m in love with the universe, from politics to quantum mechanics. I’m also an avid language learner, If is there any chance to learn any new language I’ll be super happy to try!
I'd love to learn to cook from different people around the world! I'm fascinated by various cultures, their cuisine & learning the history behind it. Any chance that I get to practice new languages!
I don't really consider myself an expert in anything, but I could teach u Astronomy, have a walk around the city, we may ride a bike or take a hike together.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share a nice talk, teach astronomy, cooking typical food of my country. I'm also more than happy to help with cooking, cleaning, errands,

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, England, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sebastian’s full profile.

My Groups