Sebastian Oliver Scholts's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 20 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sebastian’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning Dutch
  • 20, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • No occupation listed
  • Aerospace Engineering TU Delft
  • From Cascais, Lisbon, Portugal
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

Hey everyone! My name is Sebastian Oliver Scholts and I'm currently studying a Bachelor's in Aerospace Engineering at the TU in Delft. I was born in Lisbon and lived for 12 years in Cascais near Lisbon, I then moved down to the Algarve where I lived my remaining 6 years there. For the past year I have lived in Delft with two other students while in the first year of my Bachelor's course.

I come from an international background as I am half English, half Dutch and I have lived most of my life in Portugal. I was also surrounded by a cultural community of many different cultures so I got to experience new adventures, different ways of thinking and a variety of delicious food!

In my free time, I really enjoy spending time with my friends by watching a movie, playing some board games or video games, just chilling out with them or cook a meal and eat together. Additionally, I play tennis and piano both of which I've been playing for 7 years and are two of my favorite hobbies.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

As someone who likes to travel, it's essential to fully indulge the different cultures in the different parts of the world. Couch surfing is really beneficial for this as you get to stay with people that have a different mindset and have completely new aspects. To experience travelling to it's fullest, it's necessary to experience one's culture and to understand how their society works.

Interests

  • anime
  • movies
  • music
  • piano
  • rock climbing
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • table tennis
  • beaches
  • mountains
  • food
  • travelling
  • gaming
  • sea
  • biking
  • climbing
  • meeting new people
  • cliffs
  • having fun
  • scenery

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm into almost every genre of music there is and I often listen to underrated and unknown bands. However, I usually have several phases where I listen to a certain genre more than others. At this point, I'm more into chill music and electronic music but I also listen to a range of genres from classical to rock to pop! I also enjoy listening to official soundtrack from movies or video games like music from Hans Zimmer and John Williams. Some popular bands that I like are Led Zepellin, Tom Misch, Haywyre and José González.

As for movies, I like many genres but there are certain favorite movies of mine which are: Inception, Scott Pilgrim vs the world, Hidden Figures, Gifted, The man who knew infinity, The theory of everything, Pirates of the Caribbean, A dog's purpose, Hachiko and Sully.

Books have always been something that I wasn't that interested in, probably because I find it difficult to visualise what is happening but I have read several books in the past. Some of my favorites are: A Brief History of Time, The Alex Rider Series, Skulduggery Pleasant.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbed the tallest mountain in Portugal with my dad, which is only 2 km high but it still was an amazing experience.
Snorkeling with wild dolphins and watching whales in the sea was a breathtaking experience on one of the islands of Azores.
Went cliff jumping with several of my friends along the cliff side of the Algarve.

Teach, Learn, Share

As mentioned above I really think being introduced to new cultures can really teach you something and it works both ways. Experiences are one of the best teachers, even if they are good or bad, any experience will lead to a lesson and I think it's important that we as people have these experiences.

I could teach anyone some Portuguese cultures, how they eat, what they eat and some Portuguese words! I would like to learn how to cook several different meals from different cultures as my cooking experience is limited.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my stories and adventures with hosts as well as Portuguese culture and my experience living most of my life in Portugal.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Portugal

Join Couchsurfing to see Sebastian’s full profile. It’s free!