Logo orange

Christiaan's Groups

Christiaan Perez

Queens, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christiaan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 30 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Spanish and English radio host/corre...
  • Hofstra University graduate, though ...
  • From Antioch, California, United States of America
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learning from life, one adventure at a time

ABOUT ME

I am always open to meeting new people, especially people who enjoy in depth conversations. I make a point of keeping my knowledge on subjects well rounded and am always eager to hear what people have to say on the subjects they are most interested in. My preferred subject is philosophy and international relations, however I find that by simply talking to someone about what they are interested in the feelings quickly translate to me.
I appreciate both the joys of an active lifestyle as well as an appreciation for the moments when the world can slow down enough to put my thoughts in order. I particularly want to emphasize traveling and meeting people as a means of understanding both the world as a whole and the people who inhabit it. Following this interest in experiential learning I am much more inclined to try new activities or foods for the simple fact that it is something different.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that it is necessary to live life to the fullest, for the sake of maximizing experiential learning, while doing good onto others for the simple hope that in the process a caring and compassionate civil society will develop to make such treatment universal. There is enough bad in the world that I do not need to add to it. In the limited time I have on this planet, all I can do is use as much free time as possible improving myself through inward focus as well as sharing ideas with others.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

So far I have mainly hosted or been hosted in my travels by people I personally know, however I am looking forward to expanding this to more people now through some hosting and surfing.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couch surfed around Europe (Amsterdam, Prague, London, Paris, Belgium and various parts of Spain)
While in the US I would regularly visit people. I would use my trips as a way of revitalizing myself and providing a break from the "usual routine". I surfed with newly discovered family in Guadalajara and Mexico City while in the US I visited friends in
Southern California (Stayed with a friend in LA before a week long conference)
New Hampshire (Stayed with a friend for Thanksgiving)
New York (Stayed with a friend in a cabin upstate)
New Mexico (Stayed with family of a friend where I helped to build an Adobe house for two weeks)
Washington DC (Stayed at a friends place along with 12 other college students for the time leading up to inauguration of the US President)

Interests

Running, Debate, Conversation, Language, Swimming, Hiking, Reading, Philosophy, International Relations, Cooking, Eating

Music, Movies & Books

Movies:Thank You for Smoking, The Paper Chase, Lawrence of Arabia, Fiddler on the Roof, Recount, The Battle of Algiers, Without Limits, The Great Debaters, The Pursuit of Happyness, The Hangover, Fight Club, Inception (More upon request, bit of a movie fan)
Music: Alejandro Fernández, Vicente Fernández, The Beatles, The Police, Bob Marley, Andrea Boccelli, Queen, Def Leppard, Garth Brooks, Billy Joel, Mozart, Elvis, As Long as It Is a Good Song, Journey, V, Jared Berry, Sting, John Lennon
Books: Malcolm X, August 1914, Pride and Prejudice, The Secret Agent, Don Quixote, Pygmalian,

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I ran a marathon in 3hr 15min for my first time on October 17th 2010 in Amsterdam. I ran another in Prauge in Spring 2011 followed by my third in Fall 2011 in Niagra Falls. I am planning on running my fourth this coming Spring now.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: English, basic Spanish, basic computer skills, running, swimming, Communications (Radio),harmonica
Learn: Spanish, French, Dutch, Communications (TV)
Share: cooking, Communicating (let's just have a chat about anything and everything)

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Mexico, Netherlands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Christiaan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile