Logo orange

Dan Albert

Golden, CO, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

66% response rate · Last login 25 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 38 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning Hebrew (modern), Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Engineer, wireless communications
  • M.S. Mechanical Engineering
  • From Springfield, MA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Tread lightly

ABOUT ME

After years wandering from coast to coast and couchsurfing from continent to continent...it looks like I am finally settling down (for now!).

I packed up my life in a couple duffel bags in the trunk of my car and drove on out to Colorado in June 2009. I spent my time tending to fields of organic veggies, living out of my tent, and generally vagabonding around the Rockies all summer and fall. I taught snowboarding to work through the winter for a couple years until I found myself in my current situation (grad school).

I am a pacifist, a tree hugger, a lover of all things and people. I love to travel and get to know the real places and people that inhabit the land. I like going places without actually having to BE anywhere. I wander until I am lost so I can find myself. I think there is a distinction between people who travel and travelers. I strive to be the latter. I connect with God through nature and reality, not through prayer books. I believe money should be no obstacle for any person to obtain shelter, food, and good times.

I am an environmentalist and a conscientious eater and am always trying to expand my awareness of how what choices I make affect the environment for better or for worse. I love hiking/tramping/mountaineering in the wilderness. I climb and hug trees.

I am very compassionate and will always try to go out of my way to help a friend or stranger. I believe in equal rights and treatment of all inhabitants of this Earth, of all races, creeds, backgrounds, genders, religions, and species!

I helped found and run a men's feminist student organization on my home campus in Boston. We strive to promote positive gender roles for men and attempt to raise awareness about age-old stereotypes of "manliness" and what it means to be a "real man" in today's society and what impact that has on how we present ourselves and how we are perceived. I simply think it unnecessary for any person, man, woman or gender-queer to feel pressured by the media or society to not be themselves. I have plenty of faith in good people and I think one of the things that makes this world such a beautiful place is the variety of its inhabitants, and I don't want to lose that.

I will try absolutely anything once, and I beg you, dear reader, to challenge me on that and get me to experience something I wouldn't have otherwise thought to.

Create your own visitor map!

PHILOSOPHY

I am constantly torn between my two conflicting loves of life. On the one hand, I am young, energetic and adventurous and absolutely roaring to go. This is the only today I will ever have and I just want to go go go and meet everyone and see everything in this great big beautiful world and I can't look at a map of anywhere and not get itching to get on the move or just be somewhere new. On the very much other hand, I must not rush through life, I want to sit in the grass and drink in the city/mountains/people and enjoy where I am when I am there, for who knows what tomorrow may bring? If I never sit in this very place again or never walk these very streets again or never make love to you again, I should still hope to be contented with the time that I did.

If I ever achieve a happy medium between these two beautiful extremes, I'll be sure to let the world know.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Host, surf, smile, travel and spread the love.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have surfed:Edinburgh with Tabi and Jotas, Barcelona with Sam, Cabra, Spain with Jen and Michelle, Sidi Rahal, Morocco with Adil, Lisbon, Portugal with Nuno and Niemar, Bredene, Belgium with Maxim, Berdorf, Luxembourg with Sandrine , Xela, Guatemala with Cynthia,
Denver, Colorado with Adrienne and Nichole, Buena Vista, Colorado with Dustin, Steamboat Springs, Colorado with Geet, Tulsa, OK with Cary,Nashville, TN with Josh.

I have hosted:

Janet
Emily
Maxim
Dieter
Chris
Nalasa
Lisle
Kevin
Jake and April
Jessica and Seth
Veronika Zhiteneva

Interests

Pacifism, hiking, snowboarding, mountain climbing, rock climbing, bike riding (city and mountain), martial arts, C++, defying gravity, odd places with odd people, math, physics, feminism, vegans, cuddle buddies, frisbee, spicy foods, trees!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hitch hiking across Scotland, kidnapped by a small band of gypsies who ended up being some of the most benevolent folks I've ever had the pleasure of encountering.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach how to make an emergency knapsack out of a pair of trousers.
I can teach you how to backflip!

I would like to learn German.
I want to learn more about organic farming practices.

I will share the deep secrets of baking delicious vegan yummies.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Guatemala, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Morocco, Portugal, Saint Kitts and Nevis, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile