Serena Franklin's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 75% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Serena’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 8 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Chinese (Simplified)
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Interior Designer
  • California College of the Arts, San Francisco
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

A lover of arts, design, travel, people, and journeys that may inspire to combine all. The past 5 years I have been living and working in San Francisco, Beijing, and Sydney. From these very different cities, lifestyle cultures, and route around the world, I am now back to my roots in the United States. I graduated from California College of the Arts in Interior Design. Worked on a range from children's musical set design, english theatre productions abroad, corporate interiors. Both during and in between these projects, getting in the travel fill!

Bio:
http://cargocollective.com/serenajiaxin

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Have couch surfed in Hong Kong and Macau with a friend (2 girls)
Have couch surfed solo in Sydney.
Have been in Italy on a study abroad while in college. Now on my first trip through a broader range in Europe. 2 of us (girls) are looking to couchsurf, meet locals, and open to the whole experience.

All great experiences ranging from being in Macau during NYE and joining a couchsurfing party, to solo couch surfing in Sydney, meeting a mix of kind people who had busy day jobs, but willing to host, and others that were eager to spend time with other couchsurfers.

Interests

Currently:
After traveling and living abroad for 5 years after graduating from college, I'm now back in California and embracing what my home has to offer. Enjoying weekend outdoor trips, rock climbing, hotsprings, hiking, bicycling, and city exploring.

I like going to art exhibitions, design parties, and always looking for inspiration.

  • arts
  • culture
  • architecture
  • design
  • photography
  • walking
  • partying
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • climbing
  • bicycling

Music, Movies, and Books

Roman Holiday, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless mind, 2046, Madmen, Friends, Sex and the City, Roswell, How I Met Your Mother

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going on a trip to Uzbekistan, walking along an old castle wall early in the morning, seeing kids cross the gate on their way to school.

Design course in Oaxaca, Mexico, seeing local ways of craft.

Living life in Beijing, learning more about my family background.

Teach, Learn, Share

My current studies: Beginning - Intermediate Mandarin

What I do: Design, textiles, architecture, bicycling, climbing, hiking, interested in photography

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cooking, stories, exploring the local areas together, comedy shows, fun outtings together, having a friend if you travel to my hometown.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, China, Fiji, Hong Kong, India, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Serena’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups