Sergey Prokudin's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 28% response rate
  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sergey’s full profile.

Overview

  • 15 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning German
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Aerospace engineer, space crafts design, thermal and radi...
  • Baltic State Technical University, Sankt- Petersburg
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

[RU]/[EN]
----------------------------------------------IMPORTANT------------------------------------
I'm here to meet genuine, curious travelers.
I don't mind hosting people whose primary interest is free accommodation (solid no for the sleep and go approach), and a 100% copy-paste request is just not the way.
Please, DO NOT confuse couchsurfing with a HOTEL or something like that!
About the request for a couch? Do NOT expect a response if you are;
a) haven't paid attention to your profile.
b) bothered to read a bit of mine.
c) don't seem to possess that helping spirit which keeps this community rolling; on my judgement.

----------------------------------------------ВНИМАНИЕ------------------------------------
Уважаемые путешественники, прошу вас принять во внимание, что если вы действительно хотите остановится у меня, то при отправке вашего запроса стоит обратить внимание на следующие простые правила:
1. Ваша страничка на couchsurfing-е является вашей визитной карточной и должна предоставлять принимающей стороне достаточный объем информации о том, кого предстоит впустить в свой дом. Это особенно актуально в случае если вы являетесь новичком сообщества или путешествуете не по одиночке, ссылки на аккаунты сопровождающих лиц обязательны.
2. Бессодержательные запросы и запросы с элементами copy – paste не интересны.
3. Я не предоставляю услуги бесплатного отеля и не испытываю желания нести все ваши расходы на питание (завтраком всегда накормим) и если вы выбрали меня чтобы послать запрос, то имейте ввиду, что некоторая форма вежливой благодарности в виде приготовленного ВАМИ ужина будет очень кстати. Гости должны поддерживать чистоту места где находятся. Прибираться и мыть посуду за собой является обязательным требованием.
------------------------------------------------------------ABOUT ME--------------------------------------------------------------
Well, I was born and raised in Almaty, Kazakhstan, graduated from the University in Sankt-Petersburg, respectively lived and worked as engineer in Toulouse, France and Guildford, UK but my current domicile is Astana, Kazakhstan.
I would presume that I’m spontaneous and up for trying anything once, but honestly saying with some definite exceptions. I have immense passion for running, outdoor activities, traveling, photography and especially I love meeting people all round the world.
So, basically saying I’m easy going, open-minded and really nice to meet man.

PHILOSOPHY

"No theory, no ready-made system, no book that has ever been written will save the world. I cleave to no system. I am a true seeker"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing is an unique opportunity for everyone not only to find a free of charge accommodation (you do exactly know what I mean...) out but to plunge deeply into the sociality you have never experienced before, to cognize alternative way of life and to pass the time of day with someone of different culture under his or yours roof.

'Tourists don't know where they have been; travellers don't know where they're going.' ~ P. Theroux

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I do I have a couch for you to sleep on, but it depends on my current location and circumstances, it’s very common for me to be away for long-time business trip or in other cases. Firstly, just let me know and if there any chance I will answer positively.
In any case, I enjoy meeting new people and can show you around the city. I’m likely to be able to show you decent places, some cultural sites and even drink tea or coffee with you))

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted Linda and Jeroen from Berlin, Tomec from Wroclaw and it was a great experience as well it was a great chance to be a guest of Julia and Christian in Frankfurt during my first in life marathon.
Additionaly I participate sometimes in some social events in Astana or abroad.

Interests

Outdoor activities, running, photography, travelling, reading books, hiking, camping, walking, trekking, history, horse riding, cooking, swimming ! ,

Specific: Thermal and Radiation analysis, aerospace technologies,

Would love to try paragliding and salsa dancing.

  • books
  • photography
  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • running
  • walking
  • drinking
  • technology
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • rock climbing
  • paragliding
  • swimming
  • business
  • engineering
  • history
  • mountains
  • trekking
  • universe
  • space exploration

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: I'm up for a film with a good scenario, it's nice to see some documentaries and art-house films of course.

Music: Classical music, especially the world class masterpieces but sometimes contemporary compositors, pretty much all types of music, depending on my mood: mostly rock, Scorpions, Queen, Muse, Ärzte, Lacrimosa, Eisbrecher, Unheilig and so long.
Books: Russian classic, history and fantasy books something like €œThe Games of Thrones€.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have developed a thermal control system for the KazSTSat satellite and contribute to the project a lot!
The spacecraft was launched successfully on December 3, 2018, and currently taking pictorial images of our Earth! Definitely, this one is the most amazing thing that comes to mind.

Teach, Learn, Share

-I can teach you some photography features and tips as well as essential photo- technical skills
-I can tell you a lot about the Space and space technology at first hand, KazSTSAT spacecraft which is now orbiting the Earth has been created by the team of engineers to whom's i belong to
-For my self, I will be glad to cognize anything new for me

What I Can Share with Hosts

Of course, the joy of giving without expecting anything in return;
At least that is what I think of CS; a 'pay it forward' community, rather then 'give it back'.
- I can share my Bicycles to give you a better chance to explore Astana or we can cycle together.
- I can show you city around by car (depends on my free time)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, China, France, Germany, Italy, Kyrgyzstan, Netherlands, Russian Federation, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, Kazakhstan, Russian Federation, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Sergey’s full profile.

My Groups