Şevval Akbaş's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 14 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Şevval’s full profile.

Overview

  • 17 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Turkish; learning French, Greek (modern)
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Master Student
  • Technical Uni of Berlin & Bogazici University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

instagram.com/sevvallakbas
Heey dear surfers and hosts all over the world! I'm Sevval, a 25 yo master's student living currently in the amazing city of Berlin. I'm originally from Turkey and last 6 years I was living in Istanbul for my studies and work.

I moved to Berlin in October 2021 to pursue my master's in Innovation Management, Entrepreneurship and Sustainability topics. I'm interested in the start-up's world, particularly Edtech solutions, and next two years I'll be discovering the vibrant ecosystem of Berlin. I can speak German yet still keep learning to make it more fluent.
In September 2022, I'll move to Lille, France for my semester abroad. I have basic French but until my departure, I aim to improve it further. I just can't wait to discover my favorite country :)

I'm an easy-going, adventurous, flexible person who always seeks to flex her comfort zone and push the limits a lil bit more :)

For the moment, I don't have enough space to host surfers but looking forward to the days I can open my house as well!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Without connecting with locals, discovering how different lives are shaped in those places, listening to new stories that allow me to reobserve mine with a new perspective...without all these my travels would be always missing something.

Interests

I love cooking new recipes, most of the time creating my own, and enjoy eating good food :) Whenever I have the opportunity, I travel around but when I stay at home, I spend time with my sewing machine; this is my way of meditation. I like to taste wines from different regions and save them in the app called Vivino or take notes on my wine notebook. I do yoga, hiking, used to play tennis but took a long break.

  • culture
  • books
  • documentaries
  • diy
  • dining
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • backpacking
  • hitchhiking
  • sustainability
  • sewing
  • culinary

Music, Movies, and Books

Spotify says French pop was my favourite genre in 2021 :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Last year with my boyfriend, we were traveling around Turkey and one day we took a drive up to the countryside of Antalya where it's full of high mountains, minus degrees at night during spring. We had no plan for where to stay, so randomly decided to ask people who stopped their car on the road to enjoy the sunset. My boyfriend doesn't know how to speak Turkish, and they had no English so I was the only contact person in between :) I asked them whether they know some villagers who might be willing to host us for the night because Augustin was so eager to experience a local Turkish way of living. They took us to the cottage of a Turkish grandma and grandpa who were super enthusiastic to share dinner with us, listened to our story in front of the chimney, offer non-stop deserts-snacks, and so on. Since then, they call us every week to check whether we stay safe and sound haha it was definitely my best memory so far.

-Hitchhiking from Berlin to Zurich with my close friend to celebrate the 8th of March last year

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share what I know about wine degustation, teach sewing basics and how to have a sustainable wardrobe, share my cooking skills from turkish-middle east-mediterranean cuisine :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Şevval’s full profile.

My Groups