Kelsey Short

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelsey’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Lost soul who finds work as a registered nurse
  • Bachelor of Nursing
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To figure things out...


I like my job but I hate when people confuse what I do with who I am. I have big dreams to leave the world a better place than how I found it. Right now I don't really feel like I am accomplishing those dreams, but I'm a work in progress. I believe in the power of community but I don't know how to harness it. I think unicorns are awesome.


There is so much to discover...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


By hosting couch surfers and by eagerly anticipating the next time I get to be the surfer!


I started couch surfing almost a year ago and loved it from the first moment. My first experience in Winnipeg was awesome and then I couch surfed with a great family in El Salvador. I have hosted a few people now and have started to make some great connections.


Hiking, backpacking, horseback riding - anything outside! Frisbee, music, singing, learning new languages, travel, trying to be artsy, reading, pondering the meaning of life.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Goonies, The Labyrinth, Jesus Christ Superstar, Jurassic Park, In America

Music: Leonard Cohen, David Bowie, Paul Simon, Joni Mitchell, Journey, Emmylou Harris, Aerosmith, Meatloaf, Sarah McLaughlin

Books: A Complicated Kindness, The Mists of Avalon, The Joys of Motherhood, A Fine Balance, The Book of Negroes

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Saved a baby sea turtle on the coast of the Gulf of Oman.

Teach, Learn, Share

Love to teach people what I know about the mountains and being out of doors (you know, bear safety, how to pack for a backpacking trip like a pro). Would love to learn more languages (all Swahili speakers welcome!!!) Love to share food! I'm not much of a cook, mostly because I'm not entertained by cooking for myself, but preparing a meal with friends is one of the best joys in life!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, El Salvador, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Malawi, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Oman, Portugal, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Kenya, Saudi Arabia

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelsey’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups