Sid Peña's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sid’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Tagalog; learning Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Dreamer
  • Filmmaking
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

2024: Now travelling in England

This year, 2023, I started my law school journey while travelling. It was kind of tough - at first - but I’m kind of getting used to reading cases anywhere, only when I get a chance. But mostly I don’t 🙈

I can play guitar, some keyboards and ukulele…I make an authentic Filipino dish called chicken adobo. I have explored the Italian cuisine more though. I can make a pizza from scratch - it takes at least 24 hours to make 😅 …I can eat pasta everyday - any tomato based pasta with lots of vegetables, mushrooms courgettes, or just Arrabbiata.

Law student | Filmmaker | fish farmer | A province boy who loves to explore the world | Non-smoker | Social drinker | Nice guy | A big Bowie fan

I enjoy chatting about all sorts of everything under the sun either whilst having wine, coffee or beer.

I have many pictures of me here. I’m nice and decent guy.

IG: @bowie.goldmine

Profile update: Aug 17, 2023

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

CS experience is one of the best thing that could happen in anyone's life. You meet a stranger and suddenly you are not strangers anymore. CS people are the best on Earth! Polite, courteous, honest and trustworthy.

Interests

I love to watch films - more into gritty, gangster, crime, thriller stories.

Love to share indie bands and new music. Travelling is another one. ...and this is my short film page - www.vimeo.com/shadowshooter, although not had been updated for so long as I have not made any films in almost 10 years. Although I still do film editing every now and then.

Please check my recent updates for photos on Instagram - @bowie.goldmine

  • reading
  • music
  • cycling
  • films
  • beach
  • roadtrips
  • island hopping
  • walking around the city
  • british crime drama

Music, Movies, and Books

I like a few films of Alfred Hitchcock, Guy Ritchie, Ridley Scott, Wes Anderson,

I love to listen to Metallica when I was in high school, but no I don’t look or dressed up like them. Nowadays, I like a nice melody to listen to. Mostly, I listen to indie rock music. The likes of Maccabees, Arcade Fire, Maximo Park, Razorlight, Sundara Karma, Antony and the Johnsons...but of course, my all time favourite - I’m a big Bowie fan.

I don’t read as much books nowadays. Although I enjoy reading John Grisham’s and James Patterson’s, but Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City is one of the book series I loved a lot, coz it's fun to read and funny.

Though, have you read the book Manila Boy? (The one I’m reading in one of my photos)
Few more books I recommend to read: Manila Boy, Retribution, A Prat in the White House, Snakes in the Grass (Best Novel in English by National Book Awards) (All written by Patrick Everard)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One sunny day, I walked on the empty ruins of the Great Wall in Jin Shan Ling. There wasn't anyone in there except me and my friend. Looking straightly at those massive walls, I can't imagine how huge the people thought of those walls back then. Maybe like another planet? Lol.

Teach, Learn, Share

I play guitar, keyboards and ukulele, I am also knowledgeable in editing photos and videos.

Maybe I can share a basic photography lesson or film editing?
Otherwise, we can share nonstop of great stories on our travel experiences and happy life!

What I Can Share with Hosts

During the pandemic lockdowns and restrictions, no one was allowed to go out, I focused more on making my body look better - lots of dieting and eating the right food. But that's boring! But because of these Covid lockdowns and restrictions, I can now make my own Italian dough from scratch, and bake it into a great pizza with pepperoni and black olives. I also learnt how to cook Paella Valenciana, artisan bread (no sugar!), bread rolls, Cornish pasty, and lots of pasta dishes!

But before the pandemic, I am into photography and filmmaking (and still do), and I couldn't cook. Maybe we can share our photo shooting, filmmaking, cooking secrets. Or just have a beer and get drunk? :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, China, England, France, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Philippines, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sid’s full profile.

My Groups