Shahid  Jami's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 36 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shahid ’s full profile.

Overview

  • 278 references 229 Confirmed & Positive
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English
  • 64, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Tax Consultant
  • Advanced Diploma in International Taxation, LLB
  • From Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

In a large house situated in a very secure area of FCC, Gulberg, one independent ensuite bedroom with air conditioning is dedicated preferably for couples or solo female travelers.

We are British nationals but currently in Lahore, Pakistan where we have a family home. Hosting family members and friends has been our cultural and family tradition and since May 2018 we are hosting travelers
primarily with the object of projecting a soft image of Pakistan and the hospitality of Pakistanis. Since joining Couchsurfing, as per CS official data we have hosted 225 plus surfers from 48 countries. Since the majority were couples therefore the number of individuals hosted is well over 350. I have hosted the highest number of surfers in Lahore/Pakistan. I have hosted many even when I was myself out of country as I have household staff to facilitate the surfers.

I am Tax Consultant by profession and on average a year live around nine months in Lahore and around three months in England/abroad. Due to my dual nationality and UK passport, it is easier for me to travel on the go and I do so off and on.

Our grown-up children are doing very well in their careers and life at Ljubljana, London, and Stoke, so we as parents can travel frequently as and when desired.

I am keen to meet new people by hosting foreign guests and project a soft image of Pakistan and Islam and I am very satisfied with the results of my efforts.

Our family house is located in one of the most secure areas of FCC, Gulberg, Lahore and one private ensuite room is earmarked for CS travelers. A large front lawn is used for CS meets up with travelers and local members.
I am fond of attending sporting events around the world and have been to Lords Cricket Ground London, Wimbledon London, football stadiums in London, Manchester, Barcelona, and Real Madrid Clubs. Recently visited Samara and Moscow in Russia to watch World Cup being played with a football made in Pakistan which was a pleasant surprise for most locals and international visitors with whom I interacted.

I am a good listener though have a lot of life experiences to share especially since my career progression is mainly due to the habit of reading newspapers since childhood.

Adding a local and an international friend each year is my resolution because friends have helped me a lot to become a high achiever in life and now it is my turn to support others.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Meeting new people while hosting them is a pleasure . Surfing while traveling myself is not on my agenda unless specifically invited by someone to whom I had hosted.

Interests

Reading and listening people

  • reading
  • traveling
  • eating out

Music, Movies, and Books

Prolific reader of newspaper and magazines only, like subscriber of National Geographic and Times for decades.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Arranged TV coverage on prime networks of some of the unique guests staying with me . Coverage projected image of Pakistan as a tourist destination.
Beside that help of local needy students especially of females whose education has not been priority of parents due to their financial constraints.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am 64 plus but still learning things to do and things not to do . Sharing same with other.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Rich experience of Cultural diversity and eat like locals in family home

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Malaysia, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Pakistan

Join Couchsurfing to see Shahid ’s full profile.

My Groups