Shay Davies's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shay’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning Spanish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Mechanical Engineer
  • BTech Mechanical Engineering
  • From Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

Im not the greatest when it comes to talking about myself but here goes. I am a Mechanical Engineer, my fiance is a Civil Engineer. We both have a passion for travel. I love food, animals, reading, and writing. (I'd like to start travel blogging when we figure out the logistics of our year of travels.) Jon and I are both quite serious, practical people, so we have decided to take a year and see as much of the world as we can. (After much convincing on both our parts.) That's the gist of it :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Well kinda covered this in about me but, we are here because we have decided to take a year and go as far as we can. Couch surfer seems like an awesome platform to arrive with a kind of support system in that you will know somebody who can advise you on where best to start. The other benefit is that you are able to save some money in the early stages of your travels which is fabulous because you can see even more. The entire idea appeals to me in that its based on the idea that fundamentally people want to help one another! Its a great way to make new friends in new countries, and the greatest part is that once your travels are over you are able to return the kindness to someone who may wish to visit YOUR home country. Awesome :)

Interests

I have several interests, one of which is obviously travel. I love reading, horseriding, any kind of work with animals, beaching, touring, swimming. Love to have a good party or a night out every once in a while. Love good food and am an avid cook. I'm an easy going person so anything fun or interesting i'm definitely willing to try. Love new things!

  • animals
  • writing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • partying
  • reading
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • scuba diving
  • swimming
  • engineering
  • mathematics

Music, Movies, and Books

Musically speaking, I enjoy relaxed beachy music - Jack Johnson Kinda vibes. Books, anything goes - love it al, though I must admit, I love magic realism, Harry Potter is a great childhood friend of mine and would consider the series some of my favourites. Movies - I'm a comedy girl all the way.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing thing I've done in my life so far, definitely Scuba diving off the Coast of Phi Phi Island in Thailand. Please note: this is not my greatest achievement ;) just the most amazing thing Ive done.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well like I said, I love to cook so would definitely be willing and able to share my skills in the kitchen. Being in engineering I would be able to help if anyone had kids that needed Math help. I can teach horse riding too but unfortunately won't be bringing one along in the plane :) Would really like to learn a new language, so plan to definitely pursue that and will take all the help I can get! :D

Countries I’ve Visited

Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Namibia, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Shay’s full profile. It’s free!