Min's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 9 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Min’s full profile.


  • 62 references 42 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Photographer & Wanderlust
  • Bachelor, major in International Economics & Trade
  • From Suzhou, Jiangsu, China
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Made in China, traveled the world, found home and started a business in Australia

In 2016 I quit my job in Shanghai and traveled all the way alone from Mongolia, through Russia and Europe to Morocco. I took it as a career break. Then I went back to Shanghai and stayed for one year. But I realized I couldn’t live the “normal” life any more so in 2018 I started wandering the world again while trying to find a way to sustain my “abnormal” lifestyle. And I made it.

Then I got tired of being on the road and in 2019 I came to Australia. The moment I landed at Cairns Airport, I felt like home and decided to stop being a nomad and settle down for a while. In the second month I started a photography business here. Here’s my website in case you’re interested https://minxuphotography.com and https://www.instagram.com/minxu.photography/ I've also had my own exhibitions and am working on having more exhibitions.

But when you meet me, please don’t ask me how long I’m gonna travel or stay cuz I don’t even know where I’ll end up tomorrow. I might retire in Australia. I might move to Sicily. Who knows 🤷‍♀️

I'm VERY SPONTANEOUS, which is good but I've had quite some troubles because of this. Nonetheless, I never learned my lesson. If I ever have a plan, I might change it last minute.

I have no idea why I'm curious about so many things. I have a long to-do-list before the age of 30. People who know me say I'm adventurous and crazy. Well, life is short. Why not live for the present, do crazy things and enjoy life? At least when I’m too old to be crazy, I have something to recall and tell my grandchildren, well if I have grandchildren.

I'm passionate about cultures and interested in learning languages. I'm always up for any good crazy ideas.

If your dreams don’t scare you, they are not big enough.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

This is a silly question. Of course I surf, host, and meet up with people.


My biggest passion is photography.
Check my website https://www.minxuphotography.com/

Not many photographers do modeling but I do. I was very confident behind the camera but never in front of so pushed myself out of this comfort zone. Now I love it and other photographers love working with me as well. This is my private page https://www.instagram.com/theothersideofphotog/

I like travelling (like everyone here :D) I don’t like planning for my trips though.

Being a businesswoman, I’m also interested in talking about business, finance and investment!

I like hiking, camping, chasing waterfalls and most outdoor activities.

My other interests are cooking, gardening, boxing, and recently got into pole dancing.

I'm interested in languages. I learned Spanish by myself (forgot most of it). I hope to learn French and Arabic in the future.

  • culture
  • photography
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • hiking
  • boxing
  • business
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • adventure travel
  • nature
  • people
  • cryptocurrency
  • investment

Music, Movies, and Books

Favourite movies: science fiction , action, documentary
Favourite music: Reggae, Latin, some 70s and 80s
Favourite book: the little prince

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Moved to Australia being so broke, couldn’t find a job so I started a business in the second month.

Teach, Learn, Share

Maybe I can teach you how to be...crazy! Seriously I can teach some basic photography tips and photoshop skills if you are interested. You will be able to make a good photo in 10mins under my instructions 😂

I want to learn pole dance, latte art, languages and a lot more!

I can share how I escaped from the kidnap of social morals and values of Chinese society. I can also share about life experiences, starting and running a business in a foreign country, managing personal finance, life of an immigrant…

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach you some photography or drone skills if you're interested.
I love cooking (Chinese, Italian, French, Mediterranean, Thai, Indian.. a bit of everything and my own creation of food) so I’m happy to cook a meal or two.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Japan, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macao, Malaysia, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, North Korea, Poland, Russian Federation, Singapore, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China, Malaysia, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Min’s full profile.

My Groups