Logo orange

Kristen's Groups

Kristen Sheets

San Francisco, CA, USA

Wants to Meet Up

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Spanish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Internet/Software Translation
  • University
  • From CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I grew up in Northern California and spent sometime living abroad (Austria and France). I'm now living in San Francisco, working in tech. My background is in linguistics, a field I'm really passionate about. I try to travel as much as I can. I like simple things: good food, interesting people, and learning new things.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I love to meet new people and explore different places and perspectives.
At the moment I'm unable to host, but if you're in the area I'd love to meet up and show you around.

I've met so many amazing people through couch surfing; this is such a great community. I'm excited to meet more people and hear about their lives and travels.

Interests

I like reading, writing, traveling, music, linguistics, and technology.

Music, Movies & Books

Some favorite authors/poets: Franz Kafka, Milan Kundera, Don Delillo, Donald Barthelme, e. e. cummings, Eduardo Galeano, Jorge Luis Borges, Sylvia Plath, Haruki Murakami, Ann Quin, Ingeborg Bachmann

My introduction to music was through a lot of post-punk stuff which sort of lead to a long love of new wave and shoegaze (Joy Division, New Order, Talking Heads, Cocteau Twins, mbv, etc). I spent some of my teen years in Austria, where I got interested in electronic music and really love classic house and techno. Lately, I've been listening to a pretty diverse mix of music; I love hearing new things and learning about people who are making interesting art.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hitchhiking around France and Spain!

Teach, Learn, Share

If anyone has something they're willing to teach, I'm willing to learn and vice versa.

What I Can Share With Hosts

I'm always down to cook a meal and to chat about travels and music.

Countries I've Visited

China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Austria, France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile