Shelem Celis's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shelem’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Italian, Portuguese, Turkish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student at Syracuse University in Syracuse, New York
  • Double Major in Anthropology and International Relations.
  • From Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am born & raised from Los Angeles, California. Even though born in the states, I consider myself to be 100% Colombian.
I am soon to graduate from college and I am looking forward to moving to another country as soon as I complete my college education.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I don't think there's anything better than couch surfing. I think it's a great way to meet people around the world. I've always thought hotels are a bit boring. Staying in someone's home allows you explore a person's culture and I think this is an amazing opportunity. My experience couch surfing so far has been memorable & the people I have met have been so kind to me in incredible ways. I will definitely keep couch surfing and when I finally settle down in a home, I will be excited to open up my home to wanderers.

Interests

I absolutely love to travel and I would take any chance to to jump on a plane and have them drop me off anywhere in the world.
I love to go bike riding and go swimming. The beach is definitely my favorite, but what can you expect? I'm from California.
I haven't played the piano in two years, but I love to sit on the piano and play for fun. I also play the ukulele and was learning how to play the guitar before I decided to travel so much.

  • culture
  • education
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • guitar
  • piano
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
I LOVE Latin music. This includes salsa, bachata, merengue, reggaeton and vallenato. I love to dance and my favorite artists include Carlos Vives, Prince Royce, Marc Anthony and Romeo Santos.
But of course I listen to all kinds of music.

Movies:
I LOVE MOVIES. I can watch anything and I don't really have any preferences. My favorite movie of all time is Slumdog Millionaire.

Books:
I read all the time on my Kindle. But so far my favorite book is Seven Daughters & Seven Sons.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going to Patagonia, and climbing all the way to see the Torres del Paine, which is a total of a 10 hour hike. I thought that was pretty amazing.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My spontaneous personality. I consider myself to be really down-hearted and open minded. I love to learn new things, especially things about different cultures.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Panama, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Italy, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Shelem’s full profile. It’s free!