Shell Brook Wildstrom's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shell Brook’s full profile.

Overview

  • No occupation listed
  • Master's Degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

[Edit] I am not happy about adding this edit, but I am not on here to date and I respectfully request that no one contact me with that objective. My husband and I are very happy. Happy travels!

I am curious, relaxed, a life-long learner, and above all else, respectful of my fellow humans.

I smile more than most people...but have been told it is a welcome characteristic. My love of family, friends, and good-hearted strangers is the force that powers my days. All that does not mean that I am without practicality. I have a Master's degree in Higher Education and am passionate about helping as many people as possible achieve those goals. In the US, it is financially difficult for most. My goal in life is to see that change. It is important to note on here, that I have Multiple Sclerosis and while I would love hiking or climbing or any physical activity - I can only do so in short spurts. About a mile at a time is usually all my legs will allow. Please do not feel sorry for me. I am so happy that I get that mile - and a quick break later - maybe another one. So many people with MS are in chairs or use walkers. I am lucky..but also strategic and steadfast in my treatments. You might meet me with a cane, but please do not feel bad for me. I am happy.

My travel partner for life is my husband, Jake: Jake is a mathematics professor who also has a passion for spreading knowledge to future generations. He is also a fiber artist specializing in crochet.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I was previously on Couchsurfing but many years have passed and I do not think that account is active anymore. During that time I loved meeting new people that came to visit my city but never went anywhere. Now that I'm able to actually travel I'm excited to see how this community works in both directions. If you plan to request a stay with us, please make sure to include two things: my husband's favorite type of music and the name of at least one of our cats.

Interests

  • cats
  • photography
  • crafts
  • art
  • learning
  • meeting new people
  • tabletop games
  • wellness

Music, Movies, and Books

My field of interest is vast. That said, I recently, after years of contemplation, decided that Breaking Bad is the best TV show ever made. This is a statement of its quality and not even a hint as to what my _favorite_ would be. Top of my head, instant response: The Beatles, epic movies, and philosophy. Jake likes Hungarian pop a lot and I enjoy it when he is playing it. Also, if you ask him what music I like he would tell you showtunes. I don't disagree, but I think it is due to the orchestration.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One. Amazing. Thing. I've. Done. Something I did that was amazing.

I am of the philosophy that I can change the world "one starfish at a time." Maybe I have done something amazing, but I don't know if I will ever know about it.

My husband and I made the decision not to have children, and so I treat everyone as my child. Perhaps I did something with amazing ramifications for one of them? IDK.

Teach, Learn, Share

My husband can get you started on crochet. I can show you needle-felting. I think that is what this prompt means.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I will always leave my environment better than I found it. If your home is impeccable then I hope that I can at least leave some good energy and fond memories for you. I am also a storyteller. It comes from generations of tradition in rural Kentucky.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Germany, Iceland, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Shell Brook’s full profile.