Logo orange

Sherif Shawky

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sherif's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References
  • Fluent in Arabic (Egypt), English; learning French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Student
  • BEng (Hons) Electronic & Computer En...
  • From Cairo, Egypt
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Adventure!

ABOUT ME

Constantly craving adventure and always on the lookout to try something new! I've finally gotten the chance to see more of the world and can't get enough :)

I graduated in Engineering last year and after five years of study, am taking a (in my opinion) well deserved break from the field. I'm now working part time to save up and travelling at every opportunity I can.

The last year has taken me from lounging around the sunny beaches of Rio to 5 weeks of cultural and language immersion in Rome; my adventures in the last 12 months have spanned 13 countries and 30 cities and I feel incredibly privileged to have experienced all this!

PHILOSOPHY

Aspire not to have, but to be.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Countless meetups and CS nights out, I've been lucky to meet some incredible people through Couch Surfing and form lasting friendships.

I also participate by shamelessly spreading the word about the community and telling everyone I know about this site.

I've surfed a few couches and gotten involved in my local community. Unfortunately am not in the position to host people at the moment (hopefully in a few months!) but I'm always up for grabbing a drink and showing fellow CS-ers round my city :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My experience so far has been incredible. I think CS does a great job at bringing the world to your door step; it gives you the chance to experience what the rest of the world has to offer by introducing you to people from varying backgrounds and cultures, even if you can't get out there and see it for yourself.

Interests

My current obsessions are travel and language learning, other interests include:

Music: I play guitar and piano and am constantly listening to music. Always on the look out for an awesome new band!

Art: Enjoy sketching and portrait drawing, main mediums being graphite and pastel pencils. Fave artists include Dali, Van Gogh and MC Escher.

Photography: More of a recent interest, I enjoy travel photography, portrait, trail and low light photography.

Experiencing different cultures: I come from a pretty mixed background and like to experience what other cultures have to offer. I've lived in both England and Egypt and have done immersions in both France and Italy.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Porcupine Tree, Opeth, Iron Maiden, Pink Floyd Dream Theater, Joe Satriani, Chickenfoot, Anathema, Hendrix, Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, ACDC, Judas Priest, Chopin, Beethoven.. the list goes on and on!

Books: The Dark Tower series, A Thousand Splendid Suns, A Clockwork Orange, To kill a mocking bird, Catcher in the Rye, The Green Mile

Movies: Stranger than Fiction, Once, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Waking Life, Big Fish, Requiem for a Dream, Lost in Translation, Donnie Darko

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Camping with Bedouins in the Sahara

Red Sea Dolphin spotting

Skiing the Swiss Alps

Drinking Mate limao on Ipanema beach

Celebrating Summer solstice at Stonehenge

Horse riding by the pyramids of Giza

Walking down the cobbled streets of Ouro Preto

Mid night gelatos by the Colosseum

People spotting in Montmartre

Drinking beer at Oktoberfest

Venetian boat riding

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: To play guitar, to sketch, the little I know about photography and how to say "I have a cat in my trousers" in several languages (hah!) :)

Learn: All the things!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Egypt, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Sherif's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile