Shirley 108

Jelutong, Penang, Malaysia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shirley’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Malay, Yue (Cantonese); learning Chinese, French, Indonesian
  • 113, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • teacher
  • people around me in particular and the world at large in ...
  • From Jelutong, Penang, Malaysia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


to open up my perspective on the world


love travelling and meeting the locals of the places i go increase my knowledge/experiences which i'd use in my classroom teaching.
love the countryside and nature more than concrete jungles.
love to travel at a leisurely pace, not tour packages where one checks into a hotel late at night, checks out the next mornig and off on the road again after a rushed breakfast....which is described as "a refugee's life" in some Chinese dialects.


Life is what we make out of it and
Happiness comes from within one's heart!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


hosting if I can; show surfers around if I can't host; providing information within my ability if required.


A really enriching experience, for learning and sharing; to bring people of diversed cultures/religions/ races/creed together, in making this world a better place to live in :)


reading, travelling and meeting people of similar interests

Music, Movies, and Books

love romantic movies, and sitcoms, prefer oldies of the 50s to the 70s, only read non-fiction or magazines.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being a mother and a teacher (collectively and respectively, either two in one or two separate entities) can bring about really enriching and fulfilling experiences :)

Teach, Learn, Share

Being a teacher by profession, I would love to do voluntary teaching after my optional retirement in 2012. I can teach English and (Additional) Mathematics up to "O" level. I love cooking and baking... This is another area I can share with my hosts and guests. I can cook Chinese and Malay dishes.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, China, Costa Rica, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Romania, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Shirley’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups