Logo orange

Pari Delgado

Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pari's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 18 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Singing in the street for tips, othe...
  • On and off and on.
  • From Rockaway Beach, Queens, New York, USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Be Okay

ABOUT ME

I'm into squats and squatters. Equalitarian rights, in support of the LGBT and DIY communities. Caring about strangers, honest honest living, and that kind of thing. Also interested in art and music, poetry, coffee - tea. Getting over fears and trying to get more comfortable.

For a few years I've made my living singing (without accompaniment) on the streets in Barcelona, and now plan to continue singing for tips as I travel through other cities.

I hope to work on some experimental acoustic music with people I feel good chemistry with in the future travels. I have equipment and intend to do dotwork (stick and poke) tattoos for interexchanges, trades and gifts. I make some jewelry for donations. I recycle most of my food and all of my clothes and things, and want to hang out with other creative garbage lovers. I'm also very interested in connecting with old friends and seeking friends of friends.

A big part of my life is my dog, who is a Belgian Sheperd named Pewjo (pronounced Poo-show)who will be travelling with me. He's calm, friendly intelligent and often complimented being extremely well trained. I love him very much.

PHILOSOPHY

"I want to stay as close to the edge as I can without going over. Out on the edge you see all kinds of things you can't see from the center."
-- K. Vonnegut

"The nine-to-five is one of the greatest atrocities sprung upon mankind. [...]"
-- C. Bukowski

"If you are losing your soul and you know it, then you've still got a soul left to lose."
-- C. Bukowski

"The Edge... there is no honest way to explain it because the only people who really know where it is are the ones who have gone over."
--Hunter S. Thompson

Also, to sum it all up in a nutshell, look up FiShHeAd's "Genius in The Crowd" by Bukowski, on youtubes.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm notorious for having as many guests as I can fit into my space, and have been inviting people to the different squats I've lived in for the past couple years, albeit mostly without official use of CS. Now I plan to get back to surfing, and see where it takes me.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Pretty extensive. Using CS website and also through organic meetings in the streets or at parties. I often use CS by receiving invites from people after posting in their city forums or by using the Emergency Request forums.

Interests

Body modifications, vinyls, ukuleles/kazoos/toys-as-instruments, music by means of snapping/slapping/clapping/breathing and whistling... squats, DIY, intentional living, living without money.
Raves and ravers (less than a few years ago, but still up for it if the invitation is tempting enough.) Learning more about tattooing, working more with spray paint if I can. I also cut hair in weird designs for people, and rip apart/ redesign recycled clothes.

Music, Movies & Books

Blackbird Raum, Modest Mouse, and Cocorosie. I like a lot of hardcore electronic music, frenchcore, hardtek, darkpsy, breakcore. I also like acoustic, folky, experimental, ethnic musics. Really, theres a large range, lets talk about it.

T.S. Elliot, spoken word poetry. George Orwell.
African and middle eastern lit have been holding my interest a lot lately. I'm also trying to become more well read. Recently started reading Hemingway's works.

I like a wide range of different types of movies but mostly have a collection of films from the early 40's to 60's. I like watching movies and reading books based on suggestions from friends, mostly.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I live free. Amazing is relative.

Teach, Learn, Share

Sharing I seek, Learning I can't avoid, Teaching happens accidentally all the time.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Pari's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile