Shoko Nambe's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shoko’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Japanese; learning English
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • No occupation listed
  • 3rd year of university student
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a Japanese 20-year-old university student majoring in Applied Linguistics to become a Japanese language teacher in the future. I have been studying in Carleton university in Canada since January 2015 as an one-year exchange student. My friends often describe that I am a optimistic, cheerful, and energetic person. I always try to smile especially when I face difficult problems. Also, I pay attention to what I speak because I believe in "power of language", which words people utter influence themselves, so I am always mindful of saying positive words.

Interests

Cooking: the best way for getting rid of my stress is to cook. I like making sweets as well as Japanese foods, such as cream puffs and macarons.

Reading: I like reading books to get new knowledges and extend my world, especially mystery novels and biographies

Playing and watching sports: I had taken lessons of volleyball and swimming for a long time and I really like watching sports like volleyball, baseball, tennis, and swimming both in stadiums and on TV.

World cultural heritages: world cultural heritages tell me some important things that schools and textbooks do not teach me, so I often search them on the Internet. One of my dreams is to visit as many world cultural heritages as possible in the future.

  • culture
  • books
  • cooking
  • japanese food
  • clubbing
  • reading
  • tv
  • watching sports
  • sports
  • baseball
  • tennis
  • volleyball
  • swimming
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Korean-pop music

Movie: Studio Ghibli movies/ I'm not a big fan of western movies but I like Titanic, The Shawshank, Shutter island, and I Am Sam.

Books: Mystery novels (Sherlock Holmes series/The Murder of Roger Ackroyd/And Then There Were None/Murder on the Orient Express etc)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Niagara Falls: 16th February 2015 was the unforgettable day when one of my dreams came true.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share Japanese foods, culture, and language with hosts. One of my hobbies is cooking, and I often cooked Japanese foods with my mother and sisters when I was in Japan, so I can make Japanese foods for hosts if they like.
Moreover, I have some knowledge about various kinds of Japanese culture because I have learned about them for almost three years as a club activity in Japan, so I can answer questions hosts have.

Countries I’ve Visited

Finland, Singapore

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Japan

Join Couchsurfing to see Shoko’s full profile. It’s free!