Joeri van der Linden's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joeri’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 42 References 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning German, Hebrew (modern), Hindi, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Travel and enjoying life
  • Social Work degree, Life, Cooking, Travels
  • From Amsterdam
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

C'est en faisant n'importe quoi qu'on devient n'importe qui

ABOUT ME

Buenas!
I am Joeri and have been viewing the world from the beautiful city of Amsterdam since 24 years. I love travel more than anything. Second has to be food. How can you not love food, cooking, eating, the explosive sensation of flavours which can take you and your senses to infinity and beyond? Third could music/photography/reading. The rest you go figure out. Currently im working with long term drug addicts in amsterdam, trying to empower them by organizing recreational activities in which they can have some fun. Intense working environment, but i like it.

I currently am not able to host people, im sorry!

PHILOSOPHY

Journey into the unknown
Traveling in time
And I've got to stick
To the path of my heart
When I'm going out of my mind
Going with the flow
Seeing where the wind blows
Seeing where the wind blows

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting, Surfing, Meeting, spreading the word...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CS' ed in Portugal, India, Thailand, Hong Kong, Cuba, California and Spaian, and had the most amazing experiences i could have never even begin to imagine. I hosted about 15 people in Amsterdam

Interests

Going to places i have never been. Doing things i' ve never done. Meet people i've never met. waking up turn around, fall asleep again, having a cup of chai. Play (fire)poi, Cycling in Amsterdam, get lost in beats. Reading. Unexpected meetings. having chats.
Enjoying nature, hiking, trekking, swimming, cooking, eating and drinking. Smile at people and receive a smile in return. Sunshine. Outdoor Psytrance. Lago de Atitlan, Volcanoes, Reggaeton blasting chicken buses. Diving, the best sport on the planet.

  • dogs
  • fish
  • photography
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • walking
  • drinking
  • boating
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • swimming
  • emergency services

Music, Movies, and Books

Jazz, HipHop, DnB, Dubstep, Psytrance, Reggae/Dancehall/Reggeaton with variations and new discoveries.

Movies range from arthouse, mystery, bollywood till sci fi and thriller. I do think that the hollywood machine isn't my first choice. However, exceptions may occur.

Writers: Bret Easton Ellis, Thea Beckman, Aldous Huxley, George Orwell, Saromogo, Stephen Hawking, Zafon, Murokani would be a representative nutshell.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being at the 20th anniversary of the memorial of the Tiamanen square massacre at Victoriapark, Hong Kong, on june 4th, 2009. Driving down the big sur on highway 1. Wreck diving in Utila. Cruise all over Panama in a 1980's 6.2L TD Suburban with 7 people, a dog, a dirtbike and an inflatable boat. Hitching a fish truck doing 70 km/h on a dirt road in Nica. Swimming in chemuk champey. Cruising the Malecon in Havana in a 1953 blue chevy. Watching the sunset from Hanuman temple in Hampi. Living on Lake Atitlan. Teaching English to kids in Nakom Pathom. Hitching the scooter of a drunk Lao Police officer. Walking criss cross trough Brooklyn on a sunny day. Photographing the Fishpingpier in La Libertad, El Saly.
Playing endless games of shithead @ La Iguana Perdida, and working as a staff member on this little heavenly place on earth on Lago de Atitlan.
Having chats with a retired Indian Train machinist on the shores of the Ganga in Varanasi. Smoking charras with sadhus.

Teach, Learn, Share

Do, Feel, Live

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, China, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, France, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Mexico, Panama, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    12 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Joeri’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups