Shui Hoppenstein's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shui’s full profile.


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Afrikaans, Hebrew (modern)
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2020
  • Artist/Student
  • Finished school in 2020, Fine Art first year done in 2022...
  • From Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

I'm an 20 year old student artist. I'm big into reading as well - mostly epic fantasy - and often travel with a book and a sketchpad.

You can view my artworks on Instagram @shuihoppy

I love cats and dogs. Don't mind being around excitable pets, part of meeting new people is meeting new animal friends too.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to couchsurf so I can cut costs. I can't always afford to travel using hotels, so free accommodation is preferable. I'm also interested in interacting with new people and coming across different ways of life. I'm still figuring out who I am in this world, and hearing new views and perspectives helps me figure that out.


  • reading
  • drawing
  • art
  • boardgames
  • collecting
  • mtg
  • seashells

Music, Movies, and Books

Favourite music genres: dubstep, eurobeat, edm, rock, and classical. Willing to listen to whatever you're listening to though. Favourite music artist is probably Desmeon, favourite song could be Bubbles by Tokyo Machine or Caffeine by Casee Lee Williams.

I like watching anime, black mirror, and movies with unique concepts. If I had to pick a favourite movie, right now I'd say The Prestige, Arrival, or A Silent Voice.

I read a lot, mostly fantasy, horror, and mystery. Favourite series is the Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson, favourite author is Francis Hardinge, and her book Fly by Night is my favourite book.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I made a short horror film over a single weekend

Teach, Learn, Share

I can give lots of art advice for almost any type of art.
If you want to learn a little bit of Hebrew, I'm decent at speaking it.
I know a couple of interesting card games you might like, and probably don't already know.
I can teach rudimentary self-defense. I've gone to Krav Maga classes for a couple of years.

I'm interested in learning about nature - intense/complicated/obscure biological information.
I'm keen to learn handcrafting skills - skills like pottery, glassblowing, bookbinding.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my art: perhaps I could do a drawing of you or your pet or your car, or give you a drawing of mine that you like. Anything art related, pretty much, I'm happy to figure something out. If there's a long stay at your house, I could even do a mural on your wall

Countries I’ve Visited

Egypt, Israel

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Shui’s full profile.