Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Silvia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Spanish; learning Chinese, Hindi
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Graduate Student at NUS Singapore (official); dreamer, tr...
  • No education listed
  • From Silvi, Teramo, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

discovering life...

ABOUT ME

I am currently studying South Asian Studies at NUS, Singapore.
I am now in SINGAPORE on a stable basis.
At the moment however I am spending some time in India. I was in Rishikesh for the Yoga Teacher Training....now in Punjab! Thinking about where to go next.

PHILOSOPHY

Carpe diem
Music is what feelings sound like

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe in the value of SHARING and I love TRAVELLING

Being a traveller is different from being a tourist. We are often left with few dollars in our pockets, but our lust for life never ends.
When you welcome what others have to offer new unexpected treasures will come to you. Travelling is not only moving to new destinations, but seeing things with new eyes. This is what brought me to the CS community.

Interests

MUSIC, FOOD, art, foreign languages and cultures.
I love good food. And I like tasting new and typical foods.. I think that one the best ways allowing you to understand people is to eat what they eat and to speak their language.
I looooove sweets and spicy food too
And MUSIC! Music is fundamental as well!
I think Sharing is a great thing.

Music, Movies, and Books

My greatest passion is music;
MUSIC IS WHAT FEELINGS SOUND LIKE
I had a classic music education since I sarted attending piano lessons at the age of seven, so I like classic music, especially J.S.Bach and F.Chopin. But I love music in all of its expression: modern pianists, folk music, progressive, blues, reggae jazz and everything producing a "nice" sound (that is a very subjective idea). Among modern genres my favourites are punk,'60 rock and '70-'80 hard-rock I guess...
Since I got more into South-Asian culture i sometimes listen to pop music, like Indian and Pakistani pop. Although it is not really my genre, I like because of the cultural and linguistic element.
I also like South-Asian devotional music, like bhajans etc. I love listening to kirtans and qawwali, kalams etc. South-Asian Sufi music stroke deep into my heart and made me more keen to learn about the history and metaphisics behind it. I got somehow a harmonium but i did not manage to start playing yet...
I am intrested in poetry, one of the poets I love the most is F.G.Lorca; on the other side of the world: Rumi, Hafiz, Baba Bulleh Shah...I am learning more about Sufism.
The novel I've enjoied the most is "Cien anos de soledad" by G.G. Marquez. Some of my favourite films are The Hours, The Pianist, Fight Club, L'amore di Marja, I Cento Passi...
I love dancing. When I am sad I lock myself in the room and dance like mad.
i also like "serious" dance. I am learning Kathak, a classical Indian dance, as beautiful as challenging.
I love languages, if I could I'd study all the languages of the world :S I am now focusing on Hindi (if I can say "focusing"...I am not really studying but I try my best to learn as much as I can). Next on the list: Urdu & Punjabi, inshallah...
Anyway, generally speaking, I like discovering new things, my list is always in progress.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

ACDC and Guns n' Roses live in concert

A dolphin beaching himself :'(

I have been at the 2010 World Exposition in Shanghai, China ^_^

Bathed in the Ganga.......

Teach, Learn, Share

Well...I can teach you some Italian, how to cook some Italian food, some piano playing.
I would like to learn through experience and sharing whatever people would offer me.
SHARE SHARE SHARE

What I Can Share with Hosts

my stories, my smile, new friendship & endless gratitude :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Malta, Monaco, Poland, Singapore, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Italy, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Silvia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups