Simon Brass's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile.

Overview

  • 21 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Spanish; learning French, Italian, Persian (Farsi), Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • I like ideas - reading, writing
  • MA in Political Theory from the University of Toronto; BA...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

***As bizarre as it feels to write this, please don't offer to HOST me unless you have read my profile.

For SURFERS: See 'my home' section.. the rule on reading my profile also applies.

Thanks everyone
--------------------------
I love to travel, meet new people, and visit new places. There is much to see and do, even in spots where it doesn't seem like there is much going on.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It's a great way to engage in the city life and make connections with locals. As much as you remember the places you've visited, you also remember all the people you met along the way. When I first started I wasn't expecting much and was really just looking for a place to stay for one night in Québec... my girlfriend suggested that I try couchsurfing and since then I haven't stopped. I've met some amazing people, seen incredible places, and feel like I've made friends around the world. It's an awesome system built on trust, mutual hospitality and a pay-it-forward like mentality.

Interests

Books (addict). My one goal in life is to have a nice library in my house - priorities. I own 500+ books so I'm on my way. I don't value material possessions but with books I make an exception. I mostly read philosophy and political science but i also like cosmology, evolutionary biology, psychology etc. If you need book suggestions or simply like discussing different authors/ ideas then I am a good person to talk to!

Camus, Nietzsche, Cioran, Levi, Bernhard, Orwell.......

Travelling - I want to go everywhere... and feel like I've made some progress..

Learning languages - I learned French as a second language, Spanish as a third, and Italian is my fourth. My girlfriend speaks Farsi so it would be cool to learn a little of that as well. I'm fascinated by Russian.

Sports - football, baseball, hockey, soccer, tennis.

  • writing
  • books
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

My musical tastes are a bit hard to nail down. On my ipod you might jump from some Nirvana to Beethoven's Ninth.

Rock is a go to - RHCP, Arctic Monkeys, Kasabian, White Stripes, Sam Roberts, The Strokes, Nirvana, Audioslave,

Classical - Beethoven, Chopin, Vivaldi...

Linklater, 2001, Gladiator, Blade Runner, LOTR

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbed Mount Snowden in Northern Wales with my girlfriend.
I did it on a empty stomach and with a bad back but it was more than worth it.

Teach, Learn, Share

My language(s), interests (lots of book titles), questions, ideas, and experiences. Sharing a laugh or two is always a nice way to pass time.

I have shared interesting conversations with everyone I have met through surfing and always learn a thing or two. It's a cool experience to discuss ideas with people from around the world.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm always happy to help out in any way I can :) Some people take couch-surfing for granted but I understand that people are generously offering a place to stay, often expecting little to nothing in return. If any help is needed cleaning or otherwise just let me know.

If you're in my neighborhood I can offer to host in return...

Otherwise its always nice to get to know my hosts a little whether or not it is strolling through the city, sharing a meal or just hanging around and enjoying a conversation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Greece, Haiti, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Palestine, Puerto Rico, Saint Martin (French part), Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile.