Simon Anders's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 85% response rate
  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile.

Overview

  • 19 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • scientist
  • studied physics
  • From Munich, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'll have to think of something clever to put in here, I guess, but to not leave it completely blank, some "CV like" facts: I've grown up in Munich, studied physics there, lived for a while in England and Austria (and briefly in California) then in Heidelberg (Germany), then for a bit in Helsinki, and now back in Heidelberg.

I'm working in molecular biology research, specifically on how to analyze the huge amounts of data that nowadays come out of genetics experiments. This is a very interesting line of work, sitting right in the middle between biology (trying to understand how cells, and hence life at all, really work) and mathematics and statistics (which many may consider dry, but it isn't; and here, it helps to distinguish true findings from chance happenings and wishful thinking)

Interests

I would say I'm more an outdoor than a city person. So I can show you lots of nice nature around Heidelberg (it's really beautiful here, especially in autumn), but might not be that knowledgeable about the best nightlife venues.

Being from Southern Germany, I always feel drawn to the Alps, be it for skiing or hiking.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Two amazingly colourful places: Mammoth Hot Springs in Yellowstone and Artist's Palette in Death Valley (or sunset anywhere in Death Valley).
- The rain forest in Southern Sri Lanka -- so incredible green and full of life

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, England, Finland, Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile.