Don Simon Calcinai

Waikanae, Wellington, New Zealand

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Don Simon’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Travelling
  • Old white men told me what's what
  • From Napier, New Zealand
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I like people, music, the wilderness, and drinking tea. I am more than happy to live off the scraps of society. And, incidentally, I am the luckiest person on Earth.

After five relatively sedentary years, I'm on the road again...


It is best to drink wine on rooftops

The second best day to plant a tree is today

Other ideas that come to mind:
Community solidarity
Consumption/waste minimisation

What ever those things are...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been fortunate to have met many hundreds of interesting people through this website.

I recently roasted a couchsurfer on a long stick above the campfire; the meat was tender and I'm still carving his bones into all types of usefull tools. was so glad I had a great experience with another member.


Community activism, sustainability, permaculture, Indigenous perspectives, dumpster diving while listening to Mozart, and simple living.

But I find all kinds of things interesting. Foraging and fermentation are currently keeping me occupied.

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite Music:
Folk, Lounge, Electronic, Indie rock, Electro-acoustic, Film, World, Formidable Vegetable Sound System, Glen Sayers, Jams around the fire

Favorite Books:
Quirky Russian Short Stories, Utopian/dystopian Novellas, Modern Classics, Eastern Poetry, Cult Fiction

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Squatting in Brisbane
Walking across Spain with a tent
Living in a tree in Scotland

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share ideas about environmentally thrifty living and sustainability in general. I can show you how to live and travel without money (in the West at least).

I love playing/writing/recording music with people

I want to learn Spanish

I want to hear what others think

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, China, Cook Islands, Czech Republic, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Latvia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Netherlands, Norfolk Island, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Don Simon’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups