Simon Chauvette

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile. It’s free!


  • food / farming / languages / travel / outdoors
  • BCom in Management @ McGill University, Montréal
  • From Pont-Rouge
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


live a simple life & become more humble


I like learning languages, meeting people, playing music, watching movies, taking pictures, hiking and camping, cooking, etc.

We make a point of only hosting people that are genuinely interested in meeting other individuals and who don't want to use couchsurfing as a mere network of free couches. So please make sure you tell us why you chose us rather than another host. You might want to read this if you are new to the concept of couchsurfing:


I think my quest for authenticity is what motivates me the most these days.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


So far I have co-hosted (with my roommates) quite a bunch of people.


To me couchsurfing is much more than stopping at a place where you can shower and sleep comfortably (or not!) : it's a priceless opportunity for connecting with like-minded people.

I travelled to Turkey, Egypt, Israel and Jordan mostly using couchsurfing and it made our trip 100 times more interesting than it could have been without it.

I have also done some wwoofing a couple of times in Italy (in total for more or less 6-8 months) and I think the philosophy (connecting people through not-for-profit networks) is pretty similar. You should definitely take a look at this site :


Bikes and biking
mostly everything I must say

I like simple stuff, like playing cards (poker or italian cards) or tavla (backgammon). I need to play more domino and I would like to learn okey (rami)

Music, Movies, and Books

Books : "Rum's Diary" (H.S. Thompson), "La vie devant soi" (Émile Ajar/Romain Gary), John Irving, Jack Kerouac, Alessandro Baricco, Franz Kafka, Ernest Hemingway, Georges Orwell, "À l'ouest rien de nouveau" (Erich Maria Remarque), "The Grapes of Wrath" and "Of Mice and Men" (John Steinbeck), etc etc;

Movies : "Das experiment" (Oliver Hirschbiegel), "La vita è bella" (Roberto Benigni), Jim Jarmusch, "Requiem for a dream" (Darren Aronofsky), "Metropolis" (Fritz Lang), "Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind" (Michel Gondry), "Les invasions barbares" et "Le déclin de l'empire américain" (Denys Arcand), "Le chat dans le sac" (Gilles Groulx), "Léolo" (Jean-Claude Lauzon), "Maelström" (Denis Villeneuve), "Québec-Montréal" (Ricardo Trogi), "Quiconque meurt, meurt à douleur" (Robert Morin), "À hauteur d'hommme" (Jean-Claude Labrecque), "Gaz bar blues" (Louis Bélanger), etc etc;

Music : Jean Leloup, Radiohead, Nirvana, Georges Brassens, Jacques Brel, Leonard Cohen, Les Colocs, Richard Desjardins, Fabrizio DeAndré, The Beatles, Bob Dylan, Bob Marley, Damian Marley, Gorillaz, Karkwa, Malajube, Pierre Lapointe, The Cat Empire, The Beatles, The Flaming Lips, The Streets, Thom Yorke, etc. etc...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I slept on a roof in Jerusalem.
I slept in the cockpit of a chairlift in Italy.
I slept on churches, in caves and ruins in Greece.
I have seen Campo Imperatore - and haven't recovered yet.
I have seen mount Ararat (eastern Turkey) twice.
I have learned Italian by myself.
I biked from Montréal to Baie-Comeau and then around the Gaspé Peninsula with a friend.
I biked from Montréal to Québec city (240 km) in one day

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you to make
- piadina (italian yeastless bread)
- mayonnaise
- yoghurt
- loads of nice recipes!

...languages (mostly Italian, French and English, but I can probably show you some useful stuff in Russian too) to fix your bike (the very basic stuff)

...some basic photography concepts


...a couple of italian card games (scopa, briscola and "crapet")

I'd eventually like to learn how to play accordion.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Netherlands, Spain, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Canada, France, Italy

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups