Or Sinai's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Or’s full profile.

Overview

  • 30 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern), Portuguese, Spanish; learning Arabic, Italian, Portuguese
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • Bachelor of Fine Arts
  • From Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv District, Israel
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSIONS

see more of this world

exchange experiences with interesting people

find a host

save money

ABOUT ME
Kind of new in Porto, possibly would like to meet likeminded people

I can’t host but

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnN6fXjGMZA&pp

I'm quite an easygoing person, I notice little details and appreciate little things in which I find beauty. Which makes sense because I’m a photographer. Rational, yet very reasonable.
Love cinema, to see quality movies especially realistic and independent ones, either in the cinema or at home streaming. I have left a projector back home that I hope will find its way back to me soon.
I also really enjoy listening to music and making playlists which I share, and also had a radio program for which I selected songs on alternative internet radio.
writing is also something I do, whether it’s my thoughts, opinions, short stories, and poems.
I have solid opinions about things and I am critical about things in the world, my home country, and more.
Try to be ecological, and also I care about the welfare of animals, therefore I’m vegan.

PHILOSOPHY
I’m interested especially in Ancient Greek philosophy, and want to learn about other philosophers and philosophy. to be updated soon (hopefully)!

I am trying to live in the moment and be somewhat happy with what I have now and positive about might come ahead.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like meeting new people which whom I can share new experiences with. I think there is something alienated sometimes in staying in a hotel or hostel and it’s much nicer to stay with a local person who welcomes you to his/her home. also, I think the tourism industry is quite exploitative so it's better to support it less and less, be kind and host people. can totally change the entire experience.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE:
Many experiences, some sweet, some sour.
I had the chance to meet interesting people from many different places, some I also had the chance of hosting.
got to practice my writing skills with customized couch requests.
Hangouts can be tricky, but sometimes worthwhile.

Generally speaking Couchsurfing is like a city in its last stages of gentrification.

Interests

I like to be out and about and walk much, since I work from home I really like to be out if I can find something interesting to do, but normally you will find me at the cinema.
Also try to do more outdoors hobbies.

  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • literature
  • poetry
  • architecture
  • design
  • photography
  • environment
  • meditation
  • gardening
  • minimalism
  • music
  • hiking
  • anthropology
  • ecology
  • languages
  • philosophy
  • psychology
  • art
  • cinema
  • nature
  • sustainability
  • permaculture
  • buddhism
  • illustration
  • volunteer
  • vegan cooking
  • fermentation
  • sound
  • botany
  • kombucha
  • zero waste
  • fair trade
  • magazines

Music, Movies, and Books

at this point, I feel it will be easier to list my favorite directors: Andrei Tarkovsky, Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Miguel Gomes, Maren Ade, Andreas Dresen, John Cassavetes

usually, prefer indie cinema over commercial.

Music - classic rock, new wave, post-punk, blues, jazz, soul, folk, instrumental, acoustic, electronic (mostly stuff with synth)
galaxies 500, deerhunter, my bloody valentine, yo la tengo, vetiver, neil young, john prine, george harrison, the doors and more.

Books - Illusions, Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, Kafka on the Shore, Franny & Zoe, Leviathan, In the Blink of an Eye

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Machu Picchu was incredible and breathtaking, especially when I climbed up one of the mountains there.
&
stretching my neck to see the world's trade center and be on top of it one month before it collapsed.

Teach, Learn, Share

Language exchange would be nice, I can share my knowledge in photography and maybe also teach, can think together with you and give art criticism :D

What I Can Share with Hosts

a good conversation and some insights on life, I can take a portrait photo of you, music and movies recommendations, a good meal, an open invitation to my place.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Chile, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Israel, Portugal

Join Couchsurfing to see Or’s full profile.

My Groups